Is there any way to....

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by pianodude123, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #1
    I have an old iMac, G3 (crt) which I dont really use anymore. The screen on it is sort of busted and the tint is all screwwed up. I have it hooked up to my viewsonic, but is there anyway I can turn the monitor inside the imac off, while keeping the viewsonic one on? It is kept in a small corner with little ventilation, and I am also concerned about energy costs...how do I do this?
     
  2. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #2
    ...need some help here please...no one has even looked at my thread :(
     
  3. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #3
    Its only been 12 minutes, give it a little time.
     
  4. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #4
    There are a series of yokes on the back of the iMac's CRT that can be adjusted and may cure your problem. It requires fiddling and experimentation, but can be done.(I've fixed an iMac with a screwy screen this way). Just don't electrocute yourself! :eek:

    The old tray loading iMacs used the old-style DB-15 Apple video connector internally and this could be run to an external display with an Apple-to-VGA adapter. Does your iMac have a tray loading CD-ROM or a slot loading drive?

    A word of warning - do NOT attempt to disconnect the CRT from the high voltage board or remove it - there are several thousand volts lurking in there. You can easily damage yourself and the computer quite badly if you touch certain components.
     
  5. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #5
    As in f r y.........zap.......zing.......p o o f ........ !!!!!!
     
  6. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #6
    Would adjusting the levers involve me getting inside the case? Is there a way for me to do that without pulling the whole motherboard out? Or are the yokes where the VGA port is....??????
     
  7. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #7
    oh yeah, its a flower power, so ya, it is a slot loading!
     
  8. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #8

    you should have just said, "it is slot loading..." ;)
     
  9. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #9
    Yes, you will have to disassemble the case. I have not done this on a slot-loading iMac so disassembly will be different for you, you'll need to do a little research on getting it apart (it will be a pain).

    Once you have the case open you need to boot the computer and CAREFULLY manipulate the three yokes. You will have hot wires and high voltage so this can be quite dangerous; if you are at all doubtful about the risk I recommend taking the machine to an authorized service location instead.

    While you are adjusting the yokes you need to use a test pattern image (I used an image from here, the green one).

    The yokes control the color gun alignments - I suggest you read up on how these controls work before trying this, but basically you adjust the knobs until the test pattern is sharp and clear (i.e all the color guns are aligned). The yokes control Red, Blue and the distance between red and blue (they sync on green so green is not adjustable).

    I'm hardly the definitive source on this so you will want to do research on before trying it, but it can be done as long as you are patient and CAREFUL.
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    This also requires non-conductive tools... please take it to a repair shop where they know about repairing monitors.
     
  11. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #11
    That would probably be the smart route...
     
  12. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #12
    Or as in YOU WILL BE DEAD!

    The CRT can hold a charge for months after it is disconnected from power. Make sure you know what your touching before you touch it.
     
  13. dsharits macrumors 68000

    dsharits

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    The People's Republic of America
    #13
    In other words, don't mess with it yourself. Take it to someone who knows how to fiddle around with CRT's, or MacRumors will have one less member. ;)
     
  14. pianodude123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #14
    ya...that is out of the question...does anyone know how I can do the original question!?
     

Share This Page