Is there anyway to keep the Processor Running at Max?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bbrosemer, Jun 15, 2006.

  1. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #1
    When the computer is plugged in does anyone know is there is a way to keep your MBP running at full speed?
     
  2. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #2
    There should be a power setting on the control panel for Maximum. Other than that I don't know.

    I don't think you'd always want it to run at Max speed. It would eat up a lot of electricity for one. It would also keep the fans running at full speed all the time, and may build up too much heat and eventually cause damage. Part of the energy savings is that if you're just browsing the web, looking at pics, etc, the CPU doesn't need to be on full blast.
     
  3. bbrosemer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #3
    I know all of that but there is a noticable difference if you just run one instances of dev>/yes/null or whatever it is and then open an app with the processor running at 2.17 it tears through opening anything unlike when I am doing nothing it takes itunes a bounce to open where as when i got dev running it open automatically.
     
  4. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #4
    Well, there's your answer then.
     
  5. bbrosemer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #5
    However then I am using up 1/2 of my CPU resources.
     
  6. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #6
    Run two instances of it, although I don't agree with this whole line of reasoning.
     
  7. bbrosemer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #7
    No No I want it to run at the max frequency not use all of the resources.....
     
  8. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #8
    If you have a core duo, type or copy this into two terminal windows:

    yes > /dev/null

    Hope that helps:)
     
  9. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
  10. bbrosemer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #10
    Yes i know that works, I just want to know if there is a way to keep the processor running at 2.16 without that say when I open any app I want 2.16 especially when I am plugged in.
     

Share This Page