Is this an iMac G5 or intel Plastic iMac?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by GeekOFComedy, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Hello guys, I am doing a presentation for a class thingy in technology about new media and i'm trying to express how when macintosh youtubers started uploading video blogs when they switched to intel/intel made iMacs and about this media blah blah blah. In the pic attached is that a iMac G5 or intel. I see spot light on the top right so it's either running tiger or leopard. I thought I saw a apple remote magnetic thingy on the side. Did the iMac g5 have one?
     
  2. InfoSecmgr
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    InfoSecmgr

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, Michigan
    #2
    I'm sorry but that post made hardly any sense. However I do hope your "thingy" goes well...man oh man. This is the kind of stuff I had to deal with in my undergrad program. Try to put a bit more effort into things okay?
     
  3. iBookG4user
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    The last gen iMac G5 and original intel iMacs look identical from the front, so it is impossible to tell. Yes, the last gen iMac G5s also had the remote.
     
  4. GimmeSlack12
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
  5. iBookG4user
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    Yes, the last gen iMac G5s did have the iSight.
     
  6. spinnerlys
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    The last G5 iMac, released October 12th 2005, had iSights in them, that's why it is not easy to discern if the iMac in the picture is Intel or IBM.

    EDIT: Upsy daisy.
     
  7. Shake 'n' Bake
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #7
    Since they're identical from the front, why does it matter if you just need a picture?

    If you actually need to use it, look at the back; the G5s had its ports/connectors arranged vertically, while the Intel models have a horizontal arrangement.
     
  8. appleguy123
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #8
    Late 06 would indicate an intel machine. That is if she bought it new.
     
  9. SkyBell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #9
    IIRC, the G5's also said "iMac G5" on back, while the intel's only said "iMac." I could be wrong though.

    I do recall the Intel's having a slightly smaller chin then that though, so my guess would be G5.
     
  10. wbe858
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #10
    Well on the first part it doesn't...had to look behind mine to make sure but it just says iMac. The only way i could ever tell without booting it up was the vertical/horizontal ports that someone else mentioned.

    Anyway good luck with your "thingy" :)
     
  11. Shake 'n' Bake
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #11
    You might be thinking of the PowerMac G3. It had "G3" underneath the logic board which was visible from the outside.
     
  12. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    I think thingy was misleading and yea old 09 youtube videos are 3d enabled lol. It was this new media thing presentation I'm doing for my technology class. I found another pic here
     
  13. eRondeau
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    eRondeau

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Canada's South Coast
  14. SkyBell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #14
    I remember that machine, but I could've sworn that the iMac G5 had something similar on the back...Oh well.
     
  15. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    I'll lie and say it was intel lol. I just realised that editing HD video on a g5 would be harsh so it must be intel. Ooo random thread! closed!
     
  16. Jamo12
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Jamo12

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #16
    I'd bet money that it's a G5... the intel one had a more rounded back than the G5 (the G5 Was a rectangular prism, where as the intel was rounded in the back). That and the "chin" on the g5 is larger.
     
  17. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    I mean on this video if you can make anything out of low quality here @ "DOESN'T MAKE DIFF LINK GONE"] at 2:43 when the camera pans the more suggestions the better
     
  18. Badger^2
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #18
    it really is impossible to tell from what you have given us.

    The white 20" Intel iMacs used the *exact* same case as the G5 iMacs except for the port orientation.
     
  19. Maserati7200
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Maserati7200

    #19
    I'm genuinely surprised no one said this yet.
    Click the :apple: in the top right corner and click 'about this mac'. If it says "Intel Core 2 Duo" or "Intel Core Duo" then it's an intel machine. If it says PowerPC G5, then it's a G5.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. iBookG4user
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #20
    I don't believe that they have access to the computer.
     
  21. tomacintosh
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #21
    Also, if it doesn't have a built in iSight webcam then it is defs an iMac G5
     
  22. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    No but i could track the ip then fly down under but when the camera pans you see the back of the computer
     

Share This Page