is this just me...or is the site taking much longer to load??

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by eyelikeart, Apr 24, 2002.

  1. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #1
    has anyone else been experience lately that pages are taking much longer to load up here and in some cases images aren't fully loading?! :eek: :confused:
     
  2. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #2
    i haven't noticed any problems more recently...

    i've had some non full page loads but that happens everywhere and i just refresh usually...

    what kind of connection are you on?
     
  3. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    I've had some issues, but I think its with IE in general. It all started with I downloaded that security upgrade a while back. I'm thinking of reinstalling.
     
  4. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #4
    i've had the slight problem since before the update. i do think it's an IE thing rather than the server though as it happens on any given page.
     
  5. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #5
    Re: is this just me...or is the site taking much longer to load??

    Indeed, experienced simular problems.
    Do you have it on other sites as well?
    I found that speed decreased after I updated IE. And indeed sometimes images, avatars etc are not loaded. I log out then and problems gone.
    I wanted to throw away the IE prefs, but ended up throwing all my favorites and quicklinks out.
    Anybody got a clue where they are located? I checked both prefs from user and volumes/prefs, but did not run across IE prefs.
     
  6. eyelikeart thread starter Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #6
    sorry...let me be more specific

    I'm on OS 9.1...

    G4 400 tower...
    dsl...
    IE 5.0...
    nothing has changed recently in my environment...no updates...nothing...

    and no this doesn't happen on other websites...I've just noticed it more & more lately here...wondering if it had something to do with traffic or not?
     
  7. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #7
    Perhaps all those lurkers we called for started posting like hell:p

    I'm on X
    g3 450 iMac
    cable
    updated to IE .1.4 and after that started to experience problems
    But as you say, I noticed Dukestreet posting around 52 posts on one day, I'dd say he takes up a lot of bandwith:D

    could be that servers are running low on space or so...?
     
  8. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    I haven't really noticed but now that I think about it it is slightly slower (G4800 on ADSL500 & PBG4500 on 56k)

    I don't really mind I normally have multiple windows open at once and leave ones that are opening in the background.

    Just out of interest what kind of connection is macrumors.com on? I guess its somesort of leased line, they cost a bomb in england!

    Ensign
     
  9. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Re: sorry...let me be more specific

    I think you're right about the traffic. I've noticed a lot more names at the bottom of the forums in the "Currently Active Users" area...

    and Duke's clogging it up, too...:p
     
  10. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    Re: Re: sorry...let me be more specific

    He certainly is on a post charge but I haven't noticed him posting any dumb or crap posts (like this :)) I don't think we can blame this on him!

    Ensign
     
  11. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    Re: Re: Re: sorry...let me be more specific

    I know, hence the :p ...

    so :p
     
  12. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    Can I get away with my moment of stupidity there by saying I thought it was a guy with red teeth who was angry? Suppose not - :p

    Ensign
     
  13. eyelikeart thread starter Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #13
    that sounds more like a description of a vampire...ha ha :p
     
  14. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    You can get away with just about anything around here...just not swearing. ;)

    I think this guy :cool: looks more like a blind dude than a cool dude...whatever :rolleyes:

    And just because I haven't used the rest yet in this post...
    :eek: :D :p :mad: :eek: :confused:
     
  15. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #15
    Me swearing? No ******* chance, I think people who swear and totally ***.

    Anyone who can guess both the words will not win a prize.

    Ensign
     
  16. eyelikeart thread starter Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #16
    well what the **** fun would that be?? :p ;) :D
     
  17. TiMacLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Location:
    Clovis, CA USA

Share This Page