Is this temperature/fan speed ok?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KD7IWP, Oct 17, 2006.

1. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

KD7IWP

My MBP is hot; that's fine with me. If it's within specs, I don't care. But are these fan speeds acceptable? They are idling still. They NEVER speed up and I never hear them. This is around the temperature my car engine operates at, not what a CPU should be doing if you ask me. Can others verify if theirs does this as well? I have had my logic board replaced in the last two months, so it is a new revision.[​IMG]

2. TaylorB macrumors regular

I don't think that is good at all. Thats around 176F. I suggest you turn your fans up to keep it cool. It shouldn't hurt to touch your MacBook Pro, unless you like it that way. I try to keep mine between 37C and 50C (100-122F.) This is just my suggestion, i'm not a pro or anything. I hope this helps. :)

3. KD7IWP thread starter macrumors 6502a

KD7IWP

I completely agree with you. If it's too hot too touch, I know how to cool it down. What I am concerned about is that it seems like the computer is not taking care of itself. One day I had it up to 91C and wow, that's nuts. From what I hear from others, the fans turn on, but mine never seem to, and that's a problem. This temperature is normal, and I idle in the high 60's. It's not a one time thing.

4. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

Jiddick ExRex

Well if you turn fanspeeds up to max, can you hear them? If not they are most likely broken... :(

5. Jarland macrumors regular

http://www.lobotomo.com/products/FanControl/index.html
    Trust me, it is much better. smcFanControl doesn't always do what it's supposed to do. I'm not going to explain, you can search my posts to find the full explanation. But trust me, FanControl is the one you want.

6. ruutiveijari macrumors regular

7. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

8. KD7IWP thread starter macrumors 6502a

KD7IWP