Is VMWare Fusion 4 compatible with Mountain Lion GM?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Tomkins!, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm planning on upgrading to Mountain Lion, but I'll only upgrade if VMWare Fusion 4 runs without problems on Mountain Lion. Can anyone please check if VMWare Fusion runs fine on Mountain Lion?

    Thanks in advance!

    Tommy
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #2
    Yes, it is.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #3
    There are kernel panics on 64bit ML. I run my ML on 32bit and no kernel panics.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Whitehorse, Yukon , Canada
    #4
    I have VMware Fusion 4.1.1 Installer that I purchased and it won't install in ML. Says it is not compatible??
    Do I need to get the newest version?
    On my Lion computer the version is now updated to 4.1.3 since I installed.
    What version are you running to get it to work and how can I update to 4.1.3 if it won't let me open or install 4.1.1?

    Thanks
     
  5. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #5
    are you asing if you can make a virtual machine that runs ML or are you asking if Fusion itself runs your other virual machines with ML as your main OS?
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    The way I read that it's pretty clear he is talking about ML as the host OS.

    Yes, it works - I haven't had any issues.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    hitekalex

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #7
    According to Vmware forums - only 2012 Tech Preview is compatible with ML in host mode. There hasn't been any confirmation that 4.1.3 is compatible.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #8
    VM Fusion 4.1.3 will run well on Mountain Lion.
    At least it does on mine.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #9
    it's working great! resuming and suspending are much faster too than in Lion.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Whitehorse, Yukon , Canada
    #11
    So I downloaded 4.1.3 onto my ML system and entered my serial number and all is well. Works great on ML. I am running the Windows 8 Preview and for the one program that I need to run in windows it works great. I actually like Windows 8 as a simple operating system. Once you figure out how to move around and actually launch an application (i.e. no start menu) it works well. I like the Metro interface and some of the free apps from the store like Cocktail are really cool.

    I've yet to see confirmation if the $40 upgrade will be applicable to someone running the Win8 Preview on a mac in a VM but some of the Windows experts (i.e. Paul Thurrott) have suggested that they believe it will be no matter what as MS just wants as many people as possible to move to Win8 knowing no enterprise customers will ever make the switch.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #12
    Thanks

    Thanks for the many replies!
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #13
    no trouble here in 64 bit.
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    What does this mean? What is "ML on 32bit"?

    Are you referring to Mountain Lion as a guest?
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    #15
    VMWare Fusion 4 works fine on my ML (64-bit obviously).

    Make sure you have the latest version of VMWare Fusion though as it will not work. I thought it was ironic how, after upgrading from Lion, a message popped up saying I had incompatible software and it was for Parallels which is not even installed.

    Many thanks.

    ianwuk
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #16
    VMWare Fusion 4

    Hello all,

    Just wanted to say I just this morning installed OSX Mountain Lion and found to my surprise that my Parallels 6 does not work. I was not willing to fork out another $49 for the upgrade to Parallels 7 after just recently paying $79 for Parallels 6 so I went to the VMWare site and downloaded the free for 30 day trial of VMFusion 4. Installed it and it works like a charm on Mountain Lion. In fact, I like it so much better than Parallels for several reasons. For one thing I can finally use my wifi printer. It would never work with Parallels 6 when I had Lion or Snow Leopard even though it shows up in Windows. This VM Fusion 4 is smooth and fast and I think much better than Parallels. I think I will purchase this for $49 and say goodbye to Parallels. Besides, they really ticked me off by not supporting Parallels 6 with Mountain Lion.
     

Share This Page