Is WarCraft III Worth My Money?

Discussion in 'Games' started by ArtMan617, Jul 4, 2002.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #1
    Dear Anyone Who Has Played WCIII,
    Is it worth my hard-earned $50-$60 for the game? I haven't gotten a chance to play it yet, but from what I heard it's pretty damn good. Any thoughts?

    -ArtMan617
     
  2. job
    macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #2
    As far as I have heard it is worth every cent, especially Bnet. It apparently runs on a system that is far below the recommended system reqs. I have heard that it runs fine on an iMac DV with 400 Mhz 256 MB of RAM and the ubiqutious Ati Rage 128 8MB card. Going of what I have heard from other iMac owners I may buy it this weekend. :D
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #3
    I think system reqs are 300mhz g3, 64mb raam, 3d video.

    Not too high.

    -Pete
     
  4. job
    macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #4
    Here you go, the complete system reqs. from the Blizzard site :

    Now you see why I am so happy that the game will run on a iMac DV. :D
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    #5
    The graphics and music are great!

    If you want to spend the cash, i say it is worth it.

    :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #6
    Oh sweet girl of bliss!

    I agree with you.

    I played it for a while, well I played for a full day, actually, almost nonstop.

    The graphics are a step up from the previous version and the music and sound effects are great. There are also a lot of visual effects that are very pretty to look at.

    The game play which is very important for real replay value is rather high.
    It can get confusing sometimes with so many characters to control.

    One of the few flaws of the game that was carried over to this version sadly is the constant need to upgrade various buidlings and abilities. I find that this takes attention away from actual gameplay and strategy.

    Mais ce l'a vie.

    I am sure that some people enjoy the constant attention needed to control this area of the gameplay, I find it irritating.

    If you like to play battlenet then I would say yes!
    Although I havent gotten battle play to work yet, there is a patch that has come out, but I havent installed it yet. I tried to go online without it and the game wasnt able to connect or download the patch. You can get the patch from the Blizarrd website.

    I did, but havent tried it yet.
     
  7. job
    macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #7
    Re: Oh sweet girl of bliss!

    I'm just curious, what system are you running it on?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #8
    ~ Hitman

    Thanks for quoting my entire post right after my entire post, I would have been lost. :p

    I am running it on my Ti 800. I would think that 32 megs is MIN for this game because it has plenty of eye candy... etc>!

    What worries me is that they put the specs for playing and its at 600 that means my Ti is a mere 200 from being obsolete. cripes!

    Runs well no problems except for maybe scrolling, but I am used to playing games on a Pcheese so I am not certain what is standard for Mac games.
     
  9. job
    macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #9
    Re: ~ Hitman

    Here, let me help you again. I don't want you to be lost or anything. :D :D

    Sounds like it runs pretty good. btw, according to the system reqs. my computer is already a good 200 Mhz obsolete so don't worry about your Ti. :D

    I also heard that there is a slight issue with the cutscenes because they use the Bink media player.

    hitman
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #10
    Yea, that was weird about the cut scenes,,

    Didnt work on my iMac but it worked fine on my Ti....
    Freaky freaky,,,

    The boot up video was great, very realistic 3d animation...

    But it wont play again when I start teh game again...
    anyone know how to view all that opening 3d again?

    Also the update works fine and connects to battlenet now....
    If you have the right cd # sheesh, I mean yea, cool !
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    chewbaccapits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Torrance, Californizzel
    #11
    My bro help with the animation....

    Got mine for 10 bucks....So, yeah....worth every cent...Oh, yeah, I'm a poozer for writing that but got to keep this thread alive somehow....I'd like to see the replies reach at 69...My favorite ##....:º ¶:
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Location:
    Central New York
    #12
    I bought the Warcraft 3 package with all the extras for $75, and I'd say it's worth it. It comes with some cool books full of artwork, and concept artwork, a DVD, a soundtrack to the game (the music is great.). and some other neat stuff... as for the game...

    It runs great on my PC (takes the heat.) I didn't think I'd like the whole "Hero" system, but I must say it makes it much easier to win battles when numbers aern't exactly on your side. I don't have any complaints about this game yet, and I'm definately one to complain :p Buy! Enjoy!

    - John
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    topicolo

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #13
    I think the reason it doesn't work on your imac is because either you, or the installer didn't get the divx codec installed properly. All of warcraft 3's cutscenes are in divx format and unfortunately, the codec doesn't come standard with a mac installation. If you manually installed divx on your imac, you'll probably get it going.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #14
    Artman617 War 3 is worth every cent! It has awsome graphics and the new Bnet is awsome. Definantly get it! Those of you who do have it come to channel Macrumors on Bnet!
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Location:
    Central New York
    #15
    I won't get too much heat logging into channel Macrumors on my PC will I? :D :D :D
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #16
    I am surprised that Macrumors works on Pcheeses!

    Or actually I should say what the hell are you doing here>
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #17
    Will W3 work on a Rev B TiBook?

    I've tried to figure out how much video RAM I've got on my 550 Mhz Rev B TiBook but no luck. Does anyone know whether it has 8 or 16 MB of VRAM? Thanks.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    Can anyone confirm...

    ...the massive performance problems on GeForce2mx's noted on arstechnica? Specifically, several people have said that the game is unreasonably slow on an iMac800 (and other machines with GF2mx's), which should have way more than enough power to handle it. All ATI cards seem to be fine, and I'm not sure about the other nVidia cards.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    #19
    I've run WC III on a PeeCee: Dual Xeon 1.5 ghz, 1 gig RDram, nVidia Quadro 2 pro graphics card (under win2k).
    It ran great, even in 1600x1200 mode with all detail levels maxed out.

    I also ran it on a 500 mhz iMac, 512 megs ram and an ATI Rage 128 ultra (under osX).
    It ran reasonably, with some effects turned to low-medium quality.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #20
    And the reason your comparing a 1.5 dual blah blah with a 500 iMac is WHAT?

    I put the game on the back of a sow belly pig and it ran great till the pig hit his head on a fence.

    I think that was the third comparison. In your tier.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    #21
    I merely compared those because I actually ran the game on both machines! I can't speculate how it would run on a machine with this and that specs I don't have. I'm not posting a rumor here, this is what I saw.

    Besides, it's not intended to be a comparison in the first place! Just draw your own conclusion from this post.

    -Dr. D.

    [edit:]

    P. S. the sheer retardness of some people and will or urge to misinterpret posts here is amazing! 8D
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    #22
    Warcraft 3 er konge, jeg anbefaler det sterkt

    eneste problemet må vel være at få folk her inne kan lese og forstå denne posten :D
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    #23
    hehe, this must be Norwegian or Swedish...

    so, my guess of what you're saying:

    "I bought Warcraft 3, I strongly reccomend it"

    "if there are problems I'll ask those people here who can read and understand this post"

    am I not too far off?

    -Dr. D.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Location:
    Singapore
    #24
    I do.....

    maybe not many do....but I do :D

    having been in Denmark for many years and learned the language like my mother tongue, I also can read "Norsk" and "Swensk".

    So...keep on shooting.

    But most of the people in here will prefere english.

    This is after all an english speaking forum ;)
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Location:
    Singapore
    #25

    translated:
    "Warcraft 3 is the King, I recommend it strongly
    the only problem will probably be that few people in here can read and understand this post" :D
     

Share This Page