Is your macbook performing maximum?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by willybNL, Oct 20, 2006.

?

Do the test: did you get hickups?

  1. No

    50.0%
  2. No (and using external display)

    27.3%
  3. Yes

    22.7%
  4. Yes (and using external display)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. willybNL macrumors 6502

    #1
    I guess mine is not.
    But let's see.

    According to all notes on the site this should be no problem, but mine is giving all kinds of problems on this little performance test.

    Steps: Go to:
    http://www.apple.com/quicktime/guide/hd/onesixright.html and select the 1080 movie.
    Give it a good size (press apple-3 for example).
    Let it load until it's done (this to prevent people thinking it's from their internet connection).

    Now. Let this movie loop for 3 times before you answer...

    Did you experience getting hickups (i do not mean a milisecond delay, i mean real 3 second hickups)?


    Edit:
    If you experience hickups, please tell the build-week (apple -> about this mac -> more info -> serial numer -> 4H6XX (where XX is the week number you mac is made). And tell the memory and things like if you use bootcamp for example that are not just normal software.

    Thus example;

    Macbook
    Week 24
    No program's running (except calc in dashboard ;)
    Reinstalled osx once
    Using bootcamp, logitech keyboad software and HP-printer software
    Having this problem since Fan-SMC update (before the machine did this only rarely, now always)
     
  2. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #2
    How much RAM do you have in your comp? Also, the GPU is crappy, so I wouldn't expect the best performance.
     
  3. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #3
    And yet that GPU is plenty powerful for 2D movies in quicktime.
     
  4. Star Destroyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #4
    no problems, 1GB ram, 1.83Ghz macbook.... i was using adium, and firefox 2.0 the whole time OVER the full screen playing movie.. no bumps at all
     
  5. willybNL thread starter macrumors 6502

    #5

    1GB.

    I suspect it's behaviour that should not be normal, as my whole OS gets slow until the fan goes on. Guess it has something to do with speedstep putting the cpu speed down or so... that's why i wanna know if more people experience this.
    GPU is so crappy it should be able to do this so fine ;) Did not experience this same stuff on cards that are way worse (dell intel g915 cards :p)
     
  6. bob5820 macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #6
    No problems, 2GB of RAM though. Some pretty sweet aircraft
     
  7. the Western zoo macrumors 6502

    the Western zoo

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Aarhus C, Denmark
    #7
    just waiting for the video to load up.... but was just wondering why you wanna watch a movie in a resolution far beyond what is supported on the MacBook?
     
  8. the Western zoo macrumors 6502

    the Western zoo

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Aarhus C, Denmark
  9. hagjohn macrumors 6502

    hagjohn

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    No problem whatsoever. I'm well into the fourth loop (pun intended ;))...

    I have a MacBook 2.0 with 2 GB RAM, and I ran iTunes (with AirTunes), Firefox and Minuteur (I'm waiting for my dinner to be ready ;)) the whole time.
     
  11. willybNL thread starter macrumors 6502

    #11
    Well.. that is easy: external monitor. I bought my mac specially because this should be possible (and i noticed in the shop it all worked, and see the same for all people answering there were no problems). My last attempt (after resetting all stuff, calling applecare etcetcetc.) will no be to reinstall osx... (in the hope this will help some.).

    It's not only with the movies that my system responds slow and giving errors like ' IOAudioStream[0x2c4cf00]::clipIfNecessary() ' in the console system.log but it was a nice way to test other macbooks i discoverd as this should really be no problem at all for a Core Duo processor with this kind of graphics card. (even my previous dell with specs way lower then this had no problem to play that movie 10 times).
     
  12. the Western zoo macrumors 6502

    the Western zoo

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Aarhus C, Denmark
    #12
    ahhh... didn't think of that - the only external monitor I've got is a TV and I've never had any problems what so ever with using it as a extended desktop...
     
  13. willybNL thread starter macrumors 6502

    #13
    As expected this problem was solved with the new firmware update (just like it did arrive with the last)...

    Thus it was the internal monitor system getting crasy....

    Now i can watch 2 of those movies withoud any problem at one time... :)
     
  14. willybNL thread starter macrumors 6502

    #14
    Correction on that last one... 3 movies in 420p mode simulatiuous (until quicktime crashes :p). And 1 1080p movie on 1CPU mode...
    Sometimes it hickes and i get a console message:

    Oct 27 17:40:22 Computer-van-William kernel[0]: IOAudioStream[0x2cf8000]::clipIfNecessary() - Error: attempting to clip to a position more than one buffer ahead of last clip position (6d,57f)->(75,1fd7).
    Oct 27 17:40:22 Computer-van-William kernel[0]: IOAudioStream[0x2cf8000]::clipIfNecessary() - adjusting clipped position to (75,57f)
    Oct 27 17:40:33 Computer-van-William kernel[0]: PRB0_TAIL: 00000668
    Oct 27 17:40:33 Computer-van-William kernel[0]: PRB0_HEAD: 0a000714

    but now OSX stays fast (or it restores itself within a normal period) and it's not unusable anymore.... (fans kick off sooner too now)

    Guess RSS was also Random Slowness Syndrome :p
     
  15. andrewmulligan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #15
    I've got a week 32 and it's running flawlessly. :) :)
     
  16. brbubba macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #16
    Video playback should be entirely CPU dependent in this case.

    Video played fine for me, however some of the 1080p vids over on the nvidia site using a WMV wrapper will tend to get bogged down.
     
  17. andrewmulligan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #17

    ...and GPU. :)
     
  18. brbubba macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #18
    Huh? I was under the impression that even on MB Pros there is no GPU acceleration of video playback. Hence the reason some guy reverse engineered the API to incorporate support for hardware acceleration on ATI GPUs.
     
  19. brbubba macrumors 6502

    brbubba

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #19
    Huh? I was under the impression that even on MB Pros there is no GPU acceleration of video playback. Hence the reason some guy reverse engineered the API to incorporate support for hardware acceleration on ATI GPUs.
     

Share This Page