isight/bandwidth problem

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by haleyvan, Jul 23, 2006.

  1. haleyvan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #1
    my brother and i both have macbooks - i'm away at college and he is at home and we are trying to videochat on ichat with the isight. when i try to connect with him an error message comes up that says that there is a problem occurring on his end and when he tries to connect with me, an error message comes up on his computer that says there isn't enough bandwidth to support it? he went under ichat prefs, then under video and his bandwidth limit is set to none. can anyone help?
     
  2. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #2

    Had that happening a couple of times .... usually a retry later or a reboot helps. And maybe closing down some programs too (my friend always has zillion apps open on his G4 ibook)
     
  3. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #3
    Give Ralph Johns' page a try; he is a support guru at the Apple Support Forums on iSight/iChat stuff.

    Here's the link.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    One more thing to put on your to-try list -- the bandwidth setting in iChat is a *limit* ... try setting it to the lowest value rather than to *none*. This shouldn't make a difference, but... give it a try.
     
  5. haleyvan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6

Share This Page