Isight Help!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by guccirush007, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. guccirush007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    #1
    HI,

    My issue is this... I have AIM/AOL and I am able to see myself on webcam.. however noone else can unless they HAVE a webcam... My first question is- "DO you have to have a WEBCAM on both ends for both people to see you?" Does the person I am chatting with HAVE to have a webcam to see me? If so WHY? They should atleast be able to see ME if I want them to... Also if they are using windows for PC platform... can they use a pc webcam and still connect with me through my isight although I am on a mac?

    My second major ISSUE is.. WHY is the isight only compatible with AOL/AIM? I was told when I bought this it would be compatible with MSN Messenger for windows AND the MAC version... I have both and the isight does not show up on it... CAN ISIGHT be connected to msn messenger for MAC??? PLEASE help me!

    I called APPLE tech support and they couldn't even help me! They told me to call Microsoft! Anyhow- one guy did say he was able to get his ISIGHT working with the MSN messenger for MAC platform.. do you have ANY idea how to do that?? The thing is ALL my freinds are on PC's and have MSN messenger..

    THANK YOU
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Both parties must have a webcam (I think). For video conferencing, both of you must have AIM; however, it does not have to be an iSight. (there might some hacks available to get around the AIM problem)
     
  3. tangerineyum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    #3
    only one person needs the isight if both people are using ichat. if you have ichat and are trying to video conference with someone on a pc using aim, it will not work. as far as i know, there is no way to use an isight with msn.
     
  4. guccirush007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    #4
    How do i get the hacks?? What do i do??? Do you know why my virtual pc soft ware would not allow me to upload a webcam?

     
  5. guccirush007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    #5
    That just sux! SO the other person has to have ichat on the PC? But isn't that only for MACS? Do you know why my virtual pc software would not allow me to upload a webcam?

     

Share This Page