iSight in the new iMacs restricted

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jung_offender, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. jung_offender macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #1
    I just tried to use the built in iSight in my new iMac, only to find that iMovie can't use the built in iSight for the video feed. I would have to buy a second iSight to connect directly to a firewire port.

    Is it just me or does this seem a bit backwards that newest hardware can do less than the 2 year old kit that is around?
     
  2. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #2
    I'm sure that without my DV camera connected, iMovie picks up the built-in iSight as a default input device. :confused:

    Isn't it an option in the Preferences?
     
  3. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #3
    is'nt the isight recorded in mpeg4?? not dv
     
  4. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #4
    No idea. I'll have to try it when I get home.
     
  5. jung_offender thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #5
    All I get is "No Camera Attached" and that is whether I have iChat on (ie: the built in iSight is active) or off.
     
  6. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    i used to use my old isight cam with imovie and to activate it i used to just switch the shutter to open and it would pop up -- well and ichat to

    but no shutter on iMac so it must be a software thing check your ichat settings for video - tick box for open ichat when isight is connected
     
  7. jung_offender thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #7
    "Automatically open iChat when camera is turned on" - this is ticked.

    I did the apple support chat and the person said she would advise the engineers and let me know if a solution was found. Shall I hold my breath?
     
  8. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #8
    i'd be suprised if this happens on all new iMac's as you'd be the first to complain about this issue.

    let us know what it was/is
     
  9. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
  10. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #10
    oooohhh thats weird any other new iMac users wanna try it ?
     
  11. jung_offender thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #11
    does the silence mean no other problems than ours, or that no one has checked?
     
  12. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #12
    Tried mine at home last night, didn't work either.
     
  13. go habs go macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    MONTREAL
  14. SharksFan22 macrumors regular

    SharksFan22

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #14
    Worked fine for me.

    I have a 20" iMac 2.1, just ran iMovie for the first time, clicked the camera icon just below the picture area and the built-in iSight activated. This works whether I have the iChat camera control enabled or not.
     
  15. go habs go macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    MONTREAL
    #15
    Hello,
    just did a little digging around on the apple sight. Under "imovie help capture live video from an isight camera"
    It says must have STANDALONE ISIGHT. BUILT IN ISIGHT IS NOT ABLE TO CAPTURE VIDEO TO IMOVIE.
    Thought that apple had better integration than this.......very disappointed.
     
  16. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #16
    thats a bummer , but did'nt someone a few post up say it worked fine on there 2.1 ghz?
     
  17. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #17
    If you meant me, I thought it did, but must have been thinking of something else. It doesn't work for me.
     
  18. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #18
    I would think it was more of an issue with iMovie than the built-in iSight. iMovie has not received an update in months, and an update would be required for it to recognize the new built-in iSights.
     
  19. crazyeyes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    Easton PA
  20. Kace macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
  21. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #21
    That's probably the issue. I'd wager that the built-in camera is on the PCIe bus, rather than the FW bus.
     
  22. ak004m macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #22
    Yeah it doesnt work with mine either


    soooo dissapointed.....and so is my girlfriend :(
     
  23. JDOG_ macrumors 6502a

    JDOG_

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    Oakland
    #23
    Man that's super lame. You'd think they would have set it up on the same bus to avoid additional software settings/complications. Guess Apple engineers aren't perfect :rolleyes:

    Like others have said...iLife '06....we can dream.
     
  24. jung_offender thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #24
    So between the consistent replies and Apple, I think it's fair to say it's not a problem limited to faulty machines. Is this the sort of thing that can be addressed with a software update? Or is it a no go because of system architecture?
     
  25. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #25
    Actually I believe it is on the USB bus, not PCIe
     

Share This Page