iSight in the new iMacs restricted

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jung_offender, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #1
    I just tried to use the built in iSight in my new iMac, only to find that iMovie can't use the built in iSight for the video feed. I would have to buy a second iSight to connect directly to a firewire port.

    Is it just me or does this seem a bit backwards that newest hardware can do less than the 2 year old kit that is around?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #2
    I'm sure that without my DV camera connected, iMovie picks up the built-in iSight as a default input device. :confused:

    Isn't it an option in the Preferences?
     
  3. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #3
    is'nt the isight recorded in mpeg4?? not dv
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #4
    No idea. I'll have to try it when I get home.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #5
    All I get is "No Camera Attached" and that is whether I have iChat on (ie: the built in iSight is active) or off.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    i used to use my old isight cam with imovie and to activate it i used to just switch the shutter to open and it would pop up -- well and ichat to

    but no shutter on iMac so it must be a software thing check your ichat settings for video - tick box for open ichat when isight is connected
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #7
    "Automatically open iChat when camera is turned on" - this is ticked.

    I did the apple support chat and the person said she would advise the engineers and let me know if a solution was found. Shall I hold my breath?
     
  8. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #8
    i'd be suprised if this happens on all new iMac's as you'd be the first to complain about this issue.

    let us know what it was/is
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #9
    Doesn't work with mine either.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #10
    oooohhh thats weird any other new iMac users wanna try it ?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #11
    does the silence mean no other problems than ours, or that no one has checked?
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #12
    Tried mine at home last night, didn't work either.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    MONTREAL
    #13
    Hello,
    Does not work on my new imac as well.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    SharksFan22

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #14
    Worked fine for me.

    I have a 20" iMac 2.1, just ran iMovie for the first time, clicked the camera icon just below the picture area and the built-in iSight activated. This works whether I have the iChat camera control enabled or not.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    MONTREAL
    #15
    Hello,
    just did a little digging around on the apple sight. Under "imovie help capture live video from an isight camera"
    It says must have STANDALONE ISIGHT. BUILT IN ISIGHT IS NOT ABLE TO CAPTURE VIDEO TO IMOVIE.
    Thought that apple had better integration than this.......very disappointed.
     
  16. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #16
    thats a bummer , but did'nt someone a few post up say it worked fine on there 2.1 ghz?
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #17
    If you meant me, I thought it did, but must have been thinking of something else. It doesn't work for me.
     
  18. macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #18
    I would think it was more of an issue with iMovie than the built-in iSight. iMovie has not received an update in months, and an update would be required for it to recognize the new built-in iSights.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #19
    Yeah mine doesn't work either.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #20
    neither does mine... ilife 06'
     
  21. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #21
    That's probably the issue. I'd wager that the built-in camera is on the PCIe bus, rather than the FW bus.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #22
    Yeah it doesnt work with mine either


    soooo dissapointed.....and so is my girlfriend :(
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    JDOG_

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    Oakland
    #23
    Man that's super lame. You'd think they would have set it up on the same bus to avoid additional software settings/complications. Guess Apple engineers aren't perfect :rolleyes:

    Like others have said...iLife '06....we can dream.
     
  24. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    #24
    So between the consistent replies and Apple, I think it's fair to say it's not a problem limited to faulty machines. Is this the sort of thing that can be addressed with a software update? Or is it a no go because of system architecture?
     
  25. Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    #25
    Actually I believe it is on the USB bus, not PCIe
     

Share This Page