iso image for Audio CD

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Calatis, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Calatis

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    I know that with mac can generate iso images, but I can not figure out how to make image from and Audio CD. I am just curious If is possible without any extra software.

    I found the script on this forum (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=220740) and it is working somehow in his mysterious way.

    I was able to generate the iso file from an Audio Cd, however. I used the file on PC and I was able to burn it, but all the info for tracks were lost so the entire CD is one long song. Funny, it has also 2 seconds of no sound (not pause) between the songs.

    Question, am I missing something here, can you please check this script.

    here is the script (Originally Posted by dfedick):

    ---------------------------------------
    #!/bin/bash

    #########
    # Variables #
    #########

    diskName=$(drutil status | grep "Name:" | awk '{print $4}')
    userName=enterUsernameHere
    imageName=enterImageNameHere

    ######
    # Body #
    ######

    diskutil unmount ${diskName}
    dd if=${diskName} of=/Users/${userName}/Desktop/${imageName}.iso
    diskutil mount ${diskName}
    ---------------------------------------

    Note: Copy everything between dashes.. and change $userName and $imageName...

    Thank you
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    This script simply runs "dd" to copy the bits off the raw device. I wonder what could be missed? My understanding is the you should have a perfect image of the CD in the file. I've used dd to image hard drives too, copy partition tables and so on.

    Have you tried to mount the ISO image on the Mac? Does it work?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Calatis

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #3
    It might work with other data, but in this post I am talking only about audio CD, try it and you will see. I did several tests and every time I get the same result.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    I don't doubt your results. But, have you tried to mount the ISO image on the Mac? Does it work?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Calatis

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #5
    No, I will try it. I used the iso file only on PC.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Calatis

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #6
    O, I forgot, I get this error: image not recognized, see attached picture.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page