Issue with Crucial Memory - Please Help

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by mercury26, Apr 2, 2004.

  1. mercury26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    #1
    I am attempting to install a memory module from Crucial that NewEgg.com says should work. The Crucial Part# CT64M64S4D75, PC133, 512MB memory module. Unfortunately, the Mac G4 will not recognize the module, even when tried alone and in each of the slots. Listed below is the output TattleTech:

    • Memory :
    ? RAM Size = 335,544,320 Bytes (320.0 MB)
    [size,type,cur CAS,min CAS,max CAS,dimm refresh,volts,
    pins,width,mfg,part#,mfg date,ser#]
    + Module 0 = 64MB (Motherboard)
    + Module 1 = 64MB, PC100-322-620 SDRAM, CAS-3
    @100MHz|10.0ns, CAS-2 @83MHz|12.0ns, CAS-3
    @100MHz|10.0ns, 15.625us, 3.3v, 168, 128, Samsung,
    M3 66S0823CTS-C1L , 0/6, 2099517951
    + Module 2 = 64MB, PC133-333-520 SDRAM, CAS-2
    @100MHz|10.0ns, CAS-2 @100MHz|10.0ns, CAS-3
    @133MHz|7.5ns, 15.625us, 3.3v, 168, 128, ?,
    <caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron>, ?, 255
    + Module 3 = 128MB, PC133-333-520 SDRAM, CAS-2
    @100MHz|10.0ns, CAS-2 @100MHz|10.0ns, CAS-3
    @133MHz|7.5ns, 15.625us, 3.3v, 168, 128, SpecTek,
    <caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron><caron>, 15/FF, -1
    + Module 4 = 0MB, PC133-333-520 SDRAM, CAS-2
    @100MHz|10.0ns, CAS-2 @100MHz|10.0ns, CAS-3
    @133MHz|7.5ns, 7.8us, 3.3v, 168, 128, ?, ?, ?, 0

    Listed below is the output from DIMM First Aid:

    Model: PowerMac3,1
    PowerMac G4 (AGP Graphics)
    DIMM0/J21
    DIMM configured for 64MB
    8008040C0901400001A06000800800018F04060101000EC07000001414143210
    2010201000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001235
    CE00000000000000014D3320363653303832334354532D43314C20534306001F
    7D2419FF88906648524878FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF64AD
    10.0ns PC100-322
    DIMM checks out OK

    DIMM1/J22
    DIMM configured for 128MB
    8008040C0A01400001755400800800018F04060101000EA0600000140F142C10
    150815080000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000129E
    FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF000000
    000000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF64FF
    7.5ns PC133-333
    DIMM checks out OK

    DIMM2/J23
    DIMM configured for 128MB
    8008040C0A01400001755400000800018F04060101000EA0600000140F142C20
    150815080000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000122E
    7F7FB5FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF
    FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF64AD
    7.5ns PC133-333
    DIMM checks out OK

    DIMM3/J24
    DIMM not configured
    8008040D0B01400001755400820400018F04060101000EA0600000140F142C80
    150815080000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000120E
    0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
    00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000064AF
    7.5ns PC133-333
    incompatible number of column address bits
    This DIMM has problems that DIMM First Aid can't fix.

    One or more DIMMs are not compatible


    Would anyone be able to help diagnose? Is it the wrong kind of memory or a bad module? For reference the system is a G4 400MHz AGP Model

    Thanks,

    Chuck Hasek
    chasek72@hotmail.comI
     
  2. windowsblowsass macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    pa
    #2
    jesus how am i supposed to make sense of that ?
     
  3. thatwendigo macrumors 6502a

    thatwendigo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Sum, Ergo Sum.
    #3
    Well, based on the outputs, it would seem to me that there's some problem with the way the RAM is talking to your system. It's probably notewothy that TattleTech thinks that there's no actual RAM available on the stick, and that DIMM First Aid says there's a bad column address bit.

    You might want to send it back to Crucial, or call their customer support and tell them what the output says. To me, it sounds like a hardware problem with that DIMM.
     
  4. jamesfowler2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    #4
    i couldnt be arsed to read that but i had a problem with crucial memory in my ibook i rang them and they said it was a problem with there chips rev 1 or something got a new 512mb so dimm and 100%

    8:40 up 10 days, 11:47, 2 users, load averages: 0.33 0.61 0.81
    spc1-brig4-3-0-cust149:~ jamesfowler$
     
  5. mercury26 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    #5
    Thanks for everyone's help. I purchased the item on Ebay so I am going to see if I can get it replaced. I apologize for inserting the email twice, makes it look a bit confusing. I will let you know what I find out, but I suspect some bad RAM.

    Thanks,

    Chuck Hasek
     

Share This Page