issues with used ipad from ebay

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by kyomagi, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #1
    two really weird things are happening with the ipad i bought with 5.1.1 that i am jailbreaking.

    First issue is start up, it takes FOREVER

    Just timed it at 1:55 seconds

    Second thing is, when i hold the power button to turn it off, this happens

    http://postimage.org/image/h1m346vkr/

    wtf is wrong with this thing?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    Is it jailbroken now? Looks like it thinks it's an iPhone, which happened with some JB iPads.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #3
    well i dont see cydia, but under settings it has cydelete. which means it was jailbroken at one point
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #4
    Hard reset it to wipe it clean. Previously owner probably messed things up with JB.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #5
    how do i hard reset it?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #6
    I suggest you ask this question in the Jailbreaks and IOS Hacks forum.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #7
    i did not know it was jailbroken when i asked
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #8
    Hello, you are trying to jailbreak it now.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #9
    no, im trying to hard reset and restore without having to upgrade the IOS
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #10
    You're SOL.
     
  11. kyomagi, Jan 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #11
    no need to be rude.

    I actually found a way to reinstall Cydia and i saved my blobs

    on a side note, anyone got an idea what the deal is with the long load time
     
  12. macrumors G3

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #12
    Probably a side effect of being jailbroken. Only way to know for sure is if you restore it to stock.
     
  13. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    Saving the blobs now won't help you, if I recall correctly. That's something you need to do before the new version of iOS is released.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #14
    If you have the 5.1.1 blobs right now, just re restore with redsn0w.
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #15
    SOL is rude? :rolleyes:

    1. Why are you powering off and on so much?
    2. Glad the mods moved this thread to the correct forum.
     
  16. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #16
    A jailbroken iPad 2 should reboot in about 35-45 seconds (on mine that includes the time to reload LockInfo).
    An original iPad will take longer due to slower processor.

    If you feel that is an excessive time, you need to restore to clean firmware to fix the issue.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #17
    there lies the problem. I went and first wiped the ipad and when it started to reboot...bam stuck on the apple logo. it can enter DFU mode, but it wont even update to ios6, it gives a general error. after fighting with the guy for selling me a bad ipad, i had to get ebay involved, and im shipping it out today. Also picking up a 64gb ipad 3 jailbroken with some high end case for $500 today.
     
  18. kodeman53, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #18
    You caused your own problem. This should never be done with a jailbroken device. Odds are, there was never anything wrong with the first iPad.

    Before you do anything with your iPad3, ask here first or better yet, search and read here first.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #19
    so wait, erasing all settings is a bad thing? So the boot time being super long and there being other issues had all been made by erasing the settings?
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #20
    Did you try searching this forum for 'erase'? Seventh thread listed.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #21
    You cannot use Erase all Settings on a jailbroken device. Thats JB 101.

    Also, the first iPad was limited to 5.1.1, it never got ios 6. So you dont need blobs to restore it. You never mentioned which iPad it was?
     
  22. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #22
    @OP

    Try restarting it in save-mode, turn it off and hold volume-up while restarting.

    After that restart it again normal.
     
  23. macrumors 603

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Location:
    PR
    #23
    Yes its bad on a jb device.
    You messed it up NOT the seller then ;)
     
  24. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #24
    TBH The seller was not honest about a few other things on the ipad, there were dents and dings and scratches that he said did not exist. But neither here nor there, the thing would not start any longer, so i returned it to him for a refund. He already said hes going to take it to apple for a new one.


    but lucky me, i went to the store today to get a ipad 3 for $330 new with 1 year warranty, and wouldent you know, it had 5.1.1 on it.

    so freaking lucky
     

Share This Page