iStat pro ?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Macmadant, Jul 15, 2006.

  1. Macmadant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #1
    Why is it when i'm open this widget to look at the temp of my Powermac g4 MDD 1.25, i get no readings, where looking at the other widget i can see the temp of my CPU, and on my ibook i have about 5 different temps, e.g. GPU, CPU,battery,memory/power.

    Any help would be great ;)

    Also no fan speed which i get on my ibook

    Compare the 2 pics thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Macmadant thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
  3. cc bcc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #3
    I don't know. Do the numbers change, maybe the other widget is just displaying some standard temps.

    On my quad G5 I get 9 different temps and 9 different fan RPMs btw.
     
  4. Macmadant thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    The MDD doesn't have the sensors like the iBook. I was able to get CPU temperature off of my MDD using Temperature Monitor.

    On a Power Mac G5 there are tons of sensors for temperature and fan speed.
     
  6. Macmadant thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #6
    Cheers, well thats dispointing. thanks for you help anyway :)

    EDIT: Just dowloaded that monitor and about 5 mins ago it was showing that there were two sensors but then i downloaded this widget which seems to have brought sensor 3 to life
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Those are the sensors built into your hard drive that report to OS X. I was able to get a temperature reading off of my SMART enabled drive as well. Those aren't supplied their by Apple but by the hard drive manufacturer.
     
  8. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #8
    Would downloading a temperature app allow me to monitor the temperature of my mini?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    The newer versions of Temperature Monitor should be able to read a the thermal sensors on Intel chips.
     
  10. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #10
    I use iStat Pro and don't get any temp / fan info for my MacBook. Should I?
     

Share This Page