iSync + Moto V710

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by illegalprelude, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #1
    alright, so ive been trying to sync up my phone, I have a data cord, i plug it in and nothing...it says its supported on apples site.

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/isync/devices.html

    I tell it to scan and it picks up nothing...

    is there something else i gotta do?

    oh crap, i think they sent me a charging USB cable...not the Data Cord
     
  2. Steven1621 macrumors 6502a

    Steven1621

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #2
    There is hack to get iSync to work with Bluetooth. I haven't tired it yet, but I will when I have a bit more time.

    There is a lot of documentation out there about hacking the V710. I was able to remove the "Verizion Wireless" from the screen and outside LCD and put my name their instead. I also set the phone to use more bandwith to make call quality better. I don't recall where I got the information, but it is easily obtainable.
     
  3. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #3
    really? I would love to get rid of that Verizon crap :D
     
  4. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    Try plugging the cable into the phone, then into the USB port. Then scan. For some reason, this is the only way OS X will detect the phone on my computer. There is no way to sync you data using Bluetooth on the Mac.
     
  5. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #5
    Do the hack man, its worth it!

    Well, at least it was on my new E815. I can do Blutooth transfers, increased bandwidth, change the banners, you name it!

    Check out Howardforums.com You will find more than enough information about your phone, what it can and can't do, and how to get it to do what you want.

    Only catch is, you need windows to perform the Hacks
     
  6. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #6

    very cool man, ill have to try them. I do have a PC so im good for trying it out :)
    thanks for the link again
     
  7. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    Unfortunately all of us V710 owners got jipped. The E815 is only crippled by the wireless carrier (ie, Verizon) while the V710 is crippled from the factory, so no amount of firmware flashing can help us restore full bluetooth functionality.
     
  8. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
  9. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #10

    That sucks!

    Looks like its time for an upgrade :D
     

Share This Page