It says Video card is 128MB but I paid for 256

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by M. Malone, Apr 28, 2006.

  1. M. Malone macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #1
    Hey everyone, this is weird when I ran the hardware test, it said I have 128 video card, but in the system profiler, it says I have 256, so which is it?
     
  2. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  4. M. Malone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #4
    System Profiler: 256
    Hardware test: 128
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    For the record, all data gleaned from the hardware test should be taken with a HUGE grain (ok, a boulder) of salt. Not only could it be reporting incorrect info about how much VRAM you have, it's pretty much worthless at spotting hardware problems. Always has been, probably always will be.
     
  6. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #6
    dood, open it up and look at it. take a picture and load up an ATI site for comparisons.

    who would you believe?

    a software program?
    another software program?
    your eyes?
     
  7. tonyl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    #7
    I have same problem, but the card indeed is 256mb.
     
  8. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #8
    Heard it quite a few times...

    ... you have a 256, its just the HW test got it wrong.
     
  9. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    Use the ATI Displays utility or System Profiler for accurate information.
     
  10. M. Malone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #10
    well, as long as many of you guys have heard of this issue happening in the past, then I'll just take your word for it, if it is indeed not a 256, I'll call Apple after a year or so, tell them they ripped me off and I want a full refund, hey worth a try :D

    thanks everyone
     

Share This Page