iTMS copy line submitting.

Discussion in 'Daily Tunes Site Discussion and Feedback' started by SeaFox, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68020

    SeaFox

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    #1
    I notice when you right[control] click a song entry and choose Copy it copies the line from the iTMS catalog with the artist, album, time, price, in a tabbed format.

    Given that correctly entering a submission exactly as it appears in the iTMS is so important, I do this and paste it into the song title blank, cutting and pasting the other pieces from the line to their respective blanks (and deleteing the rest).

    But it would be nice if there was a blank to simply paste the whole line and the submission engine could just extract the pieces for the line it needs, given the tab delimiting.
     
  2. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    Re: iTMS copy line submitting.

    huh... didn't realize it did this... yeah, should be doable.

    arn
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #3
    How is it that your iTunes does this, but mine does not? :confused:
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68020

    SeaFox

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    #4

    Don't ask me. I am using the Windows version. I just know when I right-click and choose "Copy" I get the whole line and there are tabs between the artist, album, ect.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #5
    Ah...weird. :eek:

    I didn't realize the Windows version had any differences in the way it displayed links & such.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68020

    SeaFox

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    #6
    I didn't know the Mac version didn't do it. My Mac iTunes is 2.0.4, guess this doesn't make the line-copy submission thing so useful now. :rolleyes:

    But one nice side effect of this is if I want to export a playlist but don't want EVERY info column or the full filepath I can just select the files in the playlist (or library) and Copy the block. The list gets copied as tab-delimited but only with the displayed columns, like the iTMS entries. :)
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    #7
    Hmm, when you cntrl click the song (In iTMS) there should be "Copy" and "Copy iTMS Link".

    Clicking just "Copy" copies the info.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #8
    He was talking about the Windows version of iTunes though, not Mac. ;)
     
  9. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #9
    Works in Mac iTunes 4.1

    arn
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003

Share This Page