iTMS & New OS Install

Discussion in 'iPod' started by skp574, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. skp574 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    greenwich.london.uk
    #1
    I am in the middle of doing an Erase and Install of Tiger on my PowerBook. It's formatting as I type.

    However, I forgot to deauthorise my iTMS account on the machine. I have already notched up 5 registered machines.

    My first question is, when I get iTunes up and running again, will I be able to still play iTMS purchased music on it, from my other machine? Considering I'm already up to five registered computers. What information is taken from the computers? OS version, serial number?

    If I can't, how can I manually deauthorise it?
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    You really should search before posting new threads... :rolleyes:

    You might have found this thread.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    I've run into the same problem, forgetting to deauthorise before formatting. I haven't had any trouble though, it still only counts as one computer and is probably looking at the serial number.

    Interestingly, this seems to contradict some information in the other thread :confused:
     
  4. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #4
    Yeah, it just uses the computer ID so it doesn't matter if you wipe your hard drive clean, it still registers as one computer.
     
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    You have to change the configuration (different HD or adding (or removing) RAM, etc) before it will count as a new registration. A new install an unchanged system should only count as one. :)
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Actually...

    It registers the logic board. Until/if that needs to be replaced, you're fine.
     
  7. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #7
    More than the logic board:
    from here... ;)
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    I was under the impression it was the logic board as well. Perhaps with a dash of MAC address.
     
  9. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    I think that is very well covered under "other system components"... don't you...? ;)
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    I suspose. I was thinking "system" in terms of software, not hardware. :eek:
     

Share This Page