iTools and your own web page

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by krossfyter, Mar 24, 2002.

  1. krossfyter macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
    #1
    I was wondering.... how do i go about setting up my own web page using my own authoring tool....dreamweaver....to put my site on iTools? I know you can do this...you know use the apple servers to host your own web site...as oppose to anglefire or yahoo..etc...etc. but the problem is how do i do that? I got my site all set up (pretty much) and ready to go so what do i do next to get it on the apple server?
     
  2. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    I don't know much about iTools because I do not use them (par iDisk)

    I think all you have to do is put the content in the "Sites" ƒolder, and then go to http://homepage.mac.com/YOUR USERNAME

    Let me know if it works and what your site is called! :)

    ensign
     
  3. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #3
    well no one is answering you so i thought id take a shot at this, but please bear in mind ive never tried this so i could be horribly horribly wrong.

    that little disclaimer out of the way ive noticed that when you connect to your iDisk there is a folder titled "Sites" that contains the .html files created when i used apples guided site creation. I am assuming that if one would drop their own .html files into that folder one could make their own custom website. Just title your first page index.html and i think you should be set.

    o and btw that Goliath app Arn told us all about is a wonderful for connecting to your iDisk in OSX, since iDisk in OSX is usually painfully slow. With Goliath everything is pretty instantaneous.

    [edit] whoa ensign i think you beat me to the punch. i just read this in the iDisk read me file
    "¥ Sites: HomePage stores your Web pages in this folder. If you create a site using another tool, you can publish the site by copying the files to this folder."
     
  4. krossfyter thread starter macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
    #4
    okay thanks to the both of you. im going to try this. i just hope my links dont break or i somehow screw up my own files.
     
  5. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #5
    websites...

    so far I think the only thing I've achieved with iTools thus far is the resume....which I haven't even finished yet...

    I really....really.....really need to get a webpage going for self-promotion....I keep holding off because I plan on switching my aol service to earthlink in the fall when I move out of town...
     
  6. krossfyter thread starter macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
  7. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    Really?!?
    I did this a while ago and it's working great for me. I trashed EVERYTHING that was in that folder, put in my own index.html and everything's fine. Here's my page to prove it:
    http://homepage.mac.com/robin_martin/

    Let me know if you're still having trouble.
     
  8. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #8
    thats odd i just transfered my website over to see if it would work and everything worked just fine.
     
  9. krossfyter thread starter macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
    #9
    thats cool that you got your site to work. it looks good thus far.

    yeah im still having trouble. im new at dreamweaver so this might be the problem. i dont even know how to publish the site with dreameaver and added to that publish it to the apple server. i just put all my web files in my itools disk where it has the website folder. so im thinking my lack of expierence in publishing a site using dreamweaver is the first problem.
     
  10. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    I have never been happy with Dreamweaver's publish functions.
    Dreamweaver uses FTP right? I thought iDisk was through WebDAV...
    Try copying your files in through the Finder or Goliath.
     
  11. krossfyter thread starter macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    secret city
    #11
    yep it uses FTP. so whats the link to Goliath...and why do I need this?
     
  12. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    You don't *need* it, it's just faster than using the Finder. The link is in arn's thread on interesting OS X apps.
     
  13. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #13
    http://www.webdav.org/goliath/

    goliath is a webdav application. iDisk in mac osx is rather slow/difficult. goliath just allows you to upload to your idisk without all the slow down/difficulty of mac os x.
     

Share This Page