iTrip help

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by krohde, Aug 14, 2004.

  1. krohde macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Europe, UK
    #1
    I have just bought an iTrip, but for some reason when I try to configure it to a channel it simply does not work. I don't know if there is any way I can do something wrong. I play the tune on my ipod to set the frequency, making sure that the next tuning file is NOT playing to set the frequency to another level, but still nothing comes out of the radio tuned into the correct station. I am lost for ideas here and something tells me I need to somehow reset the itrip or something. Any ideas?

    BTW I'm using a mac if that should play any role... lol

    KRohde
     
  2. starcrossed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Location:
    San Antonio,TX
    #2
    If the light doesn't turn on, on the iTrip, you need to do a reset on the iPod (holding down Menu and Play Buttons) and try it again when it reboots, since usually that works for me. Are you also playing the iTrip station files, and not pressing pause until the iTrip light stops blinking? That is usually how it locks correctly into a station. Well, hopefully this stuff helps you out.
     
  3. krohde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Europe, UK
    #3
    Thanks for your help. i tried it and it helped, but I also read the instructions one more time. When everything else fails - read the instructions and IT WORKED! Yubiiiii
    Thanks again

    Krohde
     
  4. Fender2112 macrumors 6502a

    Fender2112

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    I had to read the instructions a few times myself. It can be a bit tricky. :)
     
  5. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #5
    I also occasionally have trouble with my iTrip.

    In my situation - it doesn't stay on the freq I select... it then goes to the next one, and next one...

    What fixes it for me is simply the timing of when I actually push the buttons on my iPod.
    Watch for the light changes. Three flashing lights vs. slower light being lit.
     
  6. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #6
    how successful are people living in busy radio station areas in getting those fm transmitters to work?
    I live in boston, where not only are there lots of major radio stations, there's also a ton of colleges, so some of the smaller frequencies are taken.
    -carly
     
  7. apple_iBoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #7
    I've had great luck in Philly on frequency 90.5. Not quite CD-quality results, but definitely pretty good.
     
  8. fr0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #8
    boston issues

    I too am in Boston, and its really a crapshoot. I generally find that 97.3 gives me reasonable sound quality with the occaisonal blurb of Spanish music in Somerville and Chestnut Hill (why those two places I have no idea).

    good luck.

    fr0
     
  9. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #9
    weird.
    since i live fairly close to chestnut hill, im thinking of sticking with my old fashioned tape adaptor until the fm adaptors are perfected.
     
  10. aptmunich macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    #10
    After you've selected your frequency, you need to press pause straight after the light starts blinking slowly...

    Alternatively your problem could be that you are playing your songs all on random, and the itrip files are being selected there by accident (I suppose that's unlikely though...)
     
  11. matthewr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    #11
    I don't want to hijack this thread, but has anyone else had their iTrip seem reluctant to work after charging their iPod? I have a 3G 15 GB iPod, and it seems whenever I charge it, at the very least I have to select the channel again, and sometimes I have to unplug and replug the iTrip and reset the channel several times (sorry for being a bit vague here - I've not really figured out what works and what doesn't to get the thing transmitting again). I'm wondering if I have a slightly defective iTrip, or if this just happens.

    I reply to earlier posts - I live just outside of Toronto, and although I cannot get ANY FM station that is completely white noise, the iTrip works pretty well - there is a little background noise, but mostly I just hear music.
     
  12. davegoody macrumors 6502

    davegoody

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire, England
    #12
    iTrip Woes

    I have a 3G iPod and an iTrip (though they are not officially sanctioned for use here in the UK due to tough (and stupid) RFI rules).

    I get a clear signal *MOST* of the time, though on a long trip it is next to useless as it impossible to find one frequency that works for the whole journey from say Nottingham to London (130 miles) - having to change frequency at least 3 times on the way down due to cross-talk.

    I do not put htis down to a problem with the iPod or iTrip at all - just that the radio frequencies are congested.

    Best thing to do is find a different method of connecting the iPod to the car stereo - the Dension iCe Link looks good so will look at this when time (and funds) permit.

    Anyone wanna buy a Mint iTrip ????
     
  13. brevhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    #13
    i just use a 3.5mm jack to 2 phono cable and get perfect quality, can't be doing with this radio malarky
     
  14. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #14
    I have an itrip, its the worst toy out there for the ipod. Just get a tape. It works better and sounds better.
     
  15. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #15
    And for those (many, many) people without audio in OR a tape deck? Most cars come with a CD player standard now, no tape deck, and you're lucky if you get audio in.

    iTrips can be tricky. The biggest problem I see (besides people not understanding the whole "pause before station selection is done", which, incidentally, keeps your station from changing during random play) is people leaving volume at 100%. The iTrip won't change stations, and it will broadcast badly distorted garbage. Put it between 40-60%.

    paul
     
  16. pyrotoaster macrumors 65816

    pyrotoaster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Location:
    Oak Park, IL
    #16
    My iTrip is alright. Chicago has a ton of FM radio stations (no surprise there), so I haven't yet found a really good empty frequency (although I've found one that's alright - 87.9).

    The bigger problem I have with my iTrip is that the amount of interference I get from it changes based on where I put my iPod in the car. For instance, when I drive the Passat, I get the best signal when I either put the iPod in the back seat (which is pretty much impractical), on the center arm rest in front (which it falls off of), or on the dash (which seems alright).

    Anyway, my point is that it seems like these FM transmitters are far from perfect right now.
     
  17. brevhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    #17
    firstly, the tape option sounds terrible, you'll never get a tape adapter or radio signal to sound as good as direct cable connection

    and secondly, i would say the vast majority of headunits these days have a way of connecting directly. If they don't have a specific AUX in, they usually have a audio in for a cd changer, this can easily be used. Most people would be supprised what connections they have on the back of their headunit.

    anyhow, wasn't simply speaking about in car, was talking about at home as well, and if your stereo doesn't have some kind of audio input then you need to get a new one :p

    this ain't the 80s :cool:
     
  18. creme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    #18
    my itrip still won't work

    my itrip worked perfectly, untill 2day. everything seems to be ok. The red light is there. But on the radio nothing happens. I allready reseted my ipod
    but it doesn't work.
    i hope somebody can help me.
    grtz
     
  19. krohde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Europe, UK
    #19
    I had a similar problem and basically i had forgotten to read the manual. Find a free frequency on your radio. Get your iPod. Make sure to press pause when the light is flashing with the fitted iTrip. Don't wait to press pause until the end of the tuning track. When you see the itrip flash thats your cue to hit pause. Then find the song you wanna listen to and it should be fine. If it doesnt help try the Griffin support staff, they are pretty quick to reply.

    KRohde
     
  20. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #20
    My bro's iTrip worked fine till yesterday. All that has been said has been done and I tried it on my iPod and multiple stereos too.. so it seems to be the iPod..with the volume all the way up, you hear silence but if the iPod is off, you hear static.. so it seems it's broadcasting silence?
     
  21. JDOG_ macrumors 6502a

    JDOG_

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    Oakland
    #21
    special playlist ;)

    I'm enjoying my iTrip mini, it's given me some pretty good sound in pretty much the entire Portland Metropolitain area. I'm going back down to school in a couple days down in L.A., so I'm sure it's going to be tough goings to get decent clear signals in the big city.

    For those of you having trouble the best thing to do is have a special playlist with your one usual station setting so it can't possibly skip on to another one...it's pretty much foolproof because when the playlist is done so is your iTrip :)
     
  22. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #22
    to quote myself and edit: if you turn the volume on the hifi reaaaaally loud you can half hear what is meant to be broadcasting but it's all static'y as if the signal wasn't strong. And that's on a station with no local content.
     
  23. roy27787 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    #23
    Hi guys ,sorry for making this thread to jump but i'm really desperate.
    A month ago i bought the iTrip and it seemed to work perfect,2 days ago i've used it for an hour and then i plugged it out,when i tried using it again the iTrip light didnt light ,and since then it doesnt light...
    i tried everything i read on the manual and the support page about it,SOFT RESET ,Uploading the playlist again ,and loading the LED ON entry on the playlist,none of them made it to work!
    is there any magic sulotion?somthing i can do about it?
    p.s,using 3g ipod ,10 gig windows.
    Thanks in Advance.
    Roy.
     

Share This Page