It's getting hot

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by myokicrystal, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Hanoi, Vietnam
    #1
    Does someone install OS 10.9 and Windows 8 with bootcamp?
    I'd install OS 10.9 and when I returned to W8, It was getting really hot.
    Can someone explain me why? It's really hot right now.
    OS 10.8.4 + W8 is not that hot :(
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #2
    Maybe it's just what you were previously doing on the system, I have a bootcamp with windows 8 and I don't see anything different from how I use it. Being a power user my MBA gets really hot from playing games. Normal operation for me.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Hanoi, Vietnam
    #3
    Thanks. Maybe Bootcamp doesn't play well :)
    In the morning, I put it in my knapsack and go to school, and when I opened it in the afternoon, It was very hot. I was really confused :D

    btw: Do you know how to reduce Windows 8 application. It's quite hot after 2h using
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #4
    I don't know why it would be different as it has nothing to do with 10.9 (or OSX for that matter).
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    I agree, I wouldn't understand why 10.9 would have any effect on Bootcamp.

    Bootcamp is just a fancy word for a Windows partition, Bootcamp and OS X are independent of each other.
    Like 2 families living in a duplex, my AC doesn't cool their part of the building and vice versa. A wall separates them, which is ,in a word, what a partition is.

    Now a VM is another story.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #6
    Actually this has happened to me before, I too have a cover for mine and when I opened it the system was still running even though the lid was closed! I had to manually shut it down. Did you mess with the battery power management? I had forgotten I set mine to never sleep in high performance mode.

    :rolleyes: Go figure.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Hanoi, Vietnam
    #7
    I've change it to high performance. But I'm not sure if it works when in sleep
     

Share This Page