Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

King Cobra

macrumors 603
Original poster
Mar 2, 2002
Very simple concept: Programmer to programmer discussion

Programmers could offer others recommendations as to what software/applications to use for their coding (recommendations may include: JGrasp, Jext, NetBeans, Eclipse, Xcode, etc.) and/or have intelligent debates as to the advantages/disadvntages of certain programming applications. Other forum topics could include help in newbie programs, in which a newbie Java programmer can't get a program to work right, and others could assist in find out the error.

Direct example of what I just said: Let's say I'm a newbie programmer for Java, and I have this code going:

import javax.swing.JOptionPane;

public class Pops
{
public static void main (String[] args)
{
JOptionPane.showMessageDialog ("Program complete."); // displays a pop-up
}}

and I can't figure out from using my compiler what is wrong with the program. I would post the thread with the whole program code in the Programming forum...and a more skillful programmer could respond to my thread with something like this:

"You have to put a null as the first parameter in the JOptionPane. Also, put a System.exit(0); at the end of your main to terminate the program properly."

Comments/feedback?

MoparShaha

Contributor
May 15, 2003
San Francisco
I think this is a great idea. I'm always seeing people posting in random forums for programming help. A nice, central source would be very good. This parallels the Web forum in principle, so it seems feasible.

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
Lard
I requested it a while back when they were asking for suggestions. I'm also looking for a Graphic design area.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004