iTunes -1 error installing ios 7

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by dopeytree, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. dopeytree, Jun 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Registered Dev. Alt click restore pointed to new ios7 got to 75% then spouted itunes error 3014 (seems to be communication related) and the phone is now stick in dfu mode. Can't get it restore back to 6.1.4 it either spouts itunes error 3014 or unknown error -1.

    ******* Sake not how I had envisioned my evening panning out.

    -- all fixed now - not completely sure what caused it but I used another computer in the end
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #2
    Damn that sucks. Hope it all works out.
     
  3. macrumors member

    travisbrowning

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    #3
    That really sucks, mine just updated fine and is restarting :eek:
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #4
    Those errors generally mean iTunes can't connect with the gs.apple.com server, or you aren't signed into your account on iTunes.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #5
    You're wrong. Your phone is not bricked. Bricked indicates that the phone is completely dead. You simply can connect to the server right now.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    its stuck in the loop now gets to 75% then 'unknown error -1' no matter if I'm downgrading 6.1.4 or upgrading to ios7
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    everyone got it but you man... Lol you're like the only one we know of that managed to mess up their phone off this. Try dfu restoring to 6.1.4 that YOU downloaded then look at one of the many guides on the first page of this forum.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #8
    DFU restore worked for me - you should try it.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #9
    Out of curiosity, have you tweaked your hosts file or had TinyUmbrella run and tweak the hosts file for you? If so, that will prevent iTunes from connecting to Apples servers, which it needs to do.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Good call I check the host file theres a few adobe things in there but no apple stuff I gave it a clear out anyhow as I now pay for adobe cloud.

    After many attempts to install ios7 & restore io6 I have finally got it restored back to ios6. That's where I'll stay for the moment.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #11
    if it helps, this happened to me. A few restore attempts later it worked. This was on iTunes 11.0.2 - didnt update to .4 until after upgrading.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    #12
    Use Xcode to update you phone......
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #13
    Enter recovery mode, it will tell you that you must restore.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    street.cory

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #14
    Try the install on a different computer. Most likely due to tinyumbrella changing the host file for apples servers. Or you can delete the entry of gs.apple.com entry and try again in DFU mode.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Thanks for all the tips guys! I tried installing ios7 from my brothers mac and it worked no problem. Love the new feel. Especially the new app switcher!


    My host file is pretty much empty so im still at a loss for why it wouldn't work on my mac. Bit extreme but a fresh install of osx should sort out any future issues right?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Location:
    South West England
    #16
    You should have alt-clicked update not restore
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    That's what I did. Alt click restore also tried alt click update.

    The phone was then permanently in DFU recovery mode as it never finished installing the firmware update.

    Anyway it worked fine on my bros mac and ios7 is lovely.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Krissypantz2828

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #18
    I don't understand how you can brick it! It's possible if you don't do it properly but that's all! iOS 7 beta will not brick your device on its own! You will have little glitches here and there but that's to be a expected! I honestly hope you figure it out dude because I wouldn't be too happy if this was my iPhone 5!! Did I try getting back to iOS 6? Just plug the phone in DFU mode and make sure u are connected to iTunes and than must restore to iOS 6 from there!! Good luck
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #19
    Maybe you should edit the misleading thread title to reflect the fact that your iPhone is not actually bricked.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Krissypantz2828

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #20
    Glad to hear
     
  21. macrumors regular

    balzmcfearson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #21
    -1 error in some cases can be resolved by restarting your computer
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    alia

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #22
    This! I got the -1 error on multiple attempts of trying to get iOS 7 onto an essentially stock iPod Touch. After a reboot, it worked without a problem.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Done. Now lets put this thread to bed.
     

Share This Page