iTunes 10.5 - Cocoa or Carbon?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by ErikGrim, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    iTunes 10.5 is a headscratcher. It runs in 64 bit, yet has the same god awful Carbon-like faux UI. Now with even fauxer Lion scrollbars. Complete without elastics and an insanely low framerate. I can literally see the steps in the fade out animation when I stop scrolling. (New SSD iMac BTW in case you think my system is at fault).

    Can anyone explain these discrepancies? (First one to pipe up with "it's beta" gets the lead pipe).
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    bizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #2
    Looks fine on my Early 2008 MacBook Pro.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Can ou provide a screenshot of this? I've seen it stated multiple times but mine certainly is not running in 64 bit mode (as confirmed Activity Monitor).
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    Mine runs 64bit.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. macrumors 6502a

    bizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #5
    There you go.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Are you guys running Snow Leopard or Lion? I am slightly confused as to why the version I downloaded from the iOS developer site is only 32 bit :confused:

    In the Finder info window mine claims to be "iTunes 10.5b27". Are yours the same?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    bizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    Same build, running in DP4. If you notice this thread is in the Lion section.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Oops: did not notice as I came in via the Forum Spy :eek:

    The lipo results are quite interesting:

    Code:
    unknown-58-b0-35-73-32-00:MacOS robbie$ lipo -info iTunes 
    Architectures in the fat file: iTunes are: ppc i386 x86_64
    So clearly this version is 64-bit compatible but will not run as 64-bit on an older OS (I don't even get the "Open in 32-bit mode" option in the info window in the Finder).

    The "Application priority" key in the Info.plist correctly has 64 bit before 32 bit but the "Minimum system versions, per-architecture" key indicated 64-bit mode is for 10.7 only (see attachment). This would indicate that there is a framework that is in 10.7 or is 64-bit in 10.7 that is not there in 10.6...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Beavix, Jun 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Beavix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Location:
    Romania
    #9
    Yes, it works as 64-bit only in Lion. I have it installed on both 10.6 and 10.7. In SL is 32 bit.
    The curious thing is iTunes seems to be the only (?) Apple app which is still updated to run on G4 and G5 Macs. Is there another one?
     
  10. robbieduncan, Jun 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011

    Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    To get back to the original question it would still seem to be Carbon (see screenshot). If you look at a pure Cocoa app (like Aperture) that Carbon key is not there.

    So my conclusion is that Apple has enabled 64-bit Carbon in Lion and all that work Adobe and Microsoft did porting their huge Carbon UI codebases to Cocoa was a bit of a waste!
     

    Attached Files:

  11. macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    I thought full-screen mode was a cocoa-only feature, though?
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    bizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #12
    Safari and Quicktime have PPC support still because of Leopard.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    joelovesapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    I think this might be one reason they don't want Core Solos or Core duos to work with this... so that the apps can be true 64-bit.

    Just a thought...
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #14
    Is Adobe going to be pissed or what? :p
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #15
    Cocoa or Carbon, they REALLY need to fix scrolling on Lion. It's atrocious.
     
  16. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #16
    What's wrong with it?
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #17
    Does this beta version of iTunes have a fullscreen mode? (I figured I would have heard mention of it if it did.)
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    kirky29

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, England
    #18
    Yep, it does.
    They've also moved the traffic lights back to the top.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #19
    Excited squee noise! Thanks for the confirmation on that.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #20
    Wow only 88.9 Mb of memory usage for iTunes 5...
    I have noticed a much increased use compared to previous version ... mine for instance, start at 150Mb
     
  21. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #21
    Mine is closer to 200MB (10.3.1) - it all depends on the size of your library.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    lewis82

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (iPod touch 2nd gen: Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; fr-fr) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Meh. I actually liked them on the side, it took less vertical space.
     
  23. macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #23
    And the whole header area looked nicely symmetrical :(
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #24
    Maybe it's because it's paired with Lion DP4, but it runs very smoothly for me. A lot better than 10.2.2 did. :p

    But I do not doubt what you are referring to is true in some cases.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #25
    For me it scrolling performs poorly and use a lot more CPU tan in Snow Leopard.
    Actually, the issue might be that the window contents redraw at each incremental step, whereas it's more lazy in 10.6, drawing just the rectangle that become visible. Not sure if it's an intentional change, something that will be fixed, or a tradeoff they had to make, but my Macbook isn't too happy with that.
     

Share This Page