iTunes 5.0.1

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by puckhead193, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Anyone's itunes keep on freezing, mine freezes all the time and then i can't force quite or anything....
    whats the terminal command to force quite
    thanks
     
  2. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Here's a command that, while rather odd, displays the pid (process ID) of the iTunes application when it is running. Cut and paste it so you don't have to type such an awful thing yourself.

    ps -x | grep '[i,i]Tunes ' | awk '{print $1}'

    (Ten points to anyone who can explain why I used [i,i]Tunes instead of iTunes.)
     
  3. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    hehe. I just type "top" and search for the PiD. Nice knowing you can target the exact app. Comes in handy for scripts. :D
     
  4. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    You have a stuttering problem?
     
  5. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Well, y-y-yes, but that's n-n-not why I typed that command on my P-P-Powerbook. (My apologies to those with speech problems.)

    If you use a grep command for "iTunes" you find two processes with that word in their "ps" line, namely the real iTunes and the grep command itself, since it too contains the word iTunes. By using the bracketed expression, which means "letter i or letter i", you find the real iTunes process but not the grep command! One of those sneaky Unix tricks that shows how you can be clever with shell commands and why it can also be infuriating.

    The trailing space after 'Tunes ' avoids finding other processes such as iTunesHelper.app.

    Were you able to solve the problem, puckhead193?
     
  6. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    yea... i restarted my computer....
    when i copy and paste that in terminal, nuthing happens, unless i'm doing something wrong, i think its me though cause i have no idea how to use terminal.... :eek: ;)
     
  7. NicP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #8
    does killall itunes work?

    just asking cause i use linux :)
     
  8. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    If "nothing happens" means you simply get another prompt in Terminal, that would indicate either that my command didn't work or that iTunes isn't running. Since you restarted, it must be the latter!
     

Share This Page