iTunes and a Secondary Display??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by thundercutter, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. thundercutter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    Just wondering if there is a way to have videos in iTunes play full screen on a secondary display. I know you can do it in Quicktime, VLC and eyeTV with terminal... but all my content is in iTunes..

    Can anyone help?

    I take it from this overwhelming responce that it is not possible to do??
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    unless there is an option under iTunes Menu==>Preferences==>General==>Play Videos, when the external is connected.

    Otherwise file a feature request for it with Apple, it's a good idea.
     
  3. bmb012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #3
    Well... you can get the visualizer playing on the second display by just minimalizing the player and putting the tiny iTunes on the second display... this doesn't work for video?

    Meh... I just play the videos from quicktime anyways, it's just a simple right-click, show in finder away...
     
  4. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #4
    I can watch TV episodes in itunes on a TV, which is hooked up to my PB through S-video output. All I need to do in order to make it full screen on the TV rather than on the primary display is to drag the movie window onto the TV (in the screen spanning, not mirroring, mode) and then turn on the full screen option. The movie then goes full screen on TV. Very handy. The same might work with a secondary display on DVI output.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Are you sure that the TV is not set to be the primary screen? VLC and other programs work this way, but my experience is that iTunes does not (on my iMac G5 with two spanned screens -- the TV and its own).

    I have to set the TV as the primary display to have the fullscreen go over there. That's exactly what I do, though, and it works well enough for me. :)
     
  6. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #6
    His method works for me, and i use expanded desktop with a widescren 20", if i drag the small player window onto my other mointor, and than hit full screen it opens up on that display.

    :)
     
  7. thundercutter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #7
    Here is the setup I am after. It just makes sense to be able to do this..

    Do work on Macbook Pro, watch films, tv from iTunes on my Display..

    [​IMG]

    p.s I have made a feature request already to Apple :)
     
  8. Thanatoast macrumors 6502a

    Thanatoast

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    Denver
    #8
    See, whenever I drag the movie to the tv and hit fullscreen it blacks out the tv and puts the movie in fullscreen on the iMac C2D. I've gotten into the habit of opening my display preferences and dragging the menubar to the tv and then opening frontrow with my remote, which then opens on the tv.
     
  9. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #9
    Yeah. At least all desktop icons, menus and such remain on my PB display. For the record, I am running Panther - do not know if it is different in Tiger (why would it be?).
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    This is also what happens to me. What I do is unplug the TV from the Mac when not in use... so then as soon as I plug it in, it becomes primary and then iTunes plays fullscreen on it. Weird... I wonder why it's different for some of us. Do any of you have QT Pro? (I don't.)
     
  11. thundercutter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #11
    Just an update on my hope to find a way to do this. If you drag your iTunes window to a secondary display and then hit full screen on a video it will play on the secondary display!..

    BUT

    It makes your primary display black out...which sucks! Half way there...THERE HAS TO BE A WAY
     
  12. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #12
    I'm reviving this topic in the hopes that someone has figured out a way.

    I want to display the iTunes visualizer on my secondary display, without having my primary fade to black. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page