iTunes and AAC

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Cimulation, Aug 4, 2004.

  1. Cimulation macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    I have lots of Random AAC Music files on my hard drive, and wish to import them to iTunes.
    So i put them all onto my desktop, and tried to drag them to a newly created playlist. Usually when doing the same to mp3 files, the big green + sign appears on your cursor, and you can drag and drop them right into iTunes.

    But i don't even get any of that, AAC files just refuse to import to iTunes.
    And i know that they aren't protected AAC's or anything like that.
    This applies to all my AAC files, not just a select few.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    cim,
     
  2. Brize macrumors 6502a

    Brize

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    Have you tried File > Add to Library?

    This is the best way of importing music files into iTunes, and will also keep your iTunes Music folder organised.
     
  3. Cimulation thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #3
    Thank you for the suggestion, but unfortunately this dosen't work, for some reason iTunes just dosen't want to import AAC any way i try.

    Does this happen to you? Or can you just drag and drop a file from your desktop onto a playlist and it imports?
     
  4. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #4
    Make sure you have the latest version of quicktime.
     
  5. Brize macrumors 6502a

    Brize

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    I've just tried to replicate your problem. Yes, I'm normally able to drag and drop into iTunes, but the green + sign disappears if I uncheck 'Copy files to iTunes music folder when adding to library' in Preferences > Advanced. Check that box and see whether it solves the problem.

    [Edit: spelling]
     
  6. Cimulation thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #6
    Thank you both, i did uncheck the box, and tried numerous other things, but to no avail.
    And i do have the latest qtime.
    I think that my system is just really stuffed.
    I'm going to re-install, since a lot of things like this are happening recently.
    And hopefully it should all work as planned then.

    But thank you for you time and effort.
    cim,
     
  7. Brize macrumors 6502a

    Brize

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    You're welcome, cim. Let us know how you get on.
     
  8. micvog macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #8
    Before you re-install, have you tried running Repair Disk Permissions and the cron jobs (sudo periodic daily, sudo periodic weekly, sudo periodic monthly)?
     
  9. Cimulation thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #9
    No haven't tried them, but am off to do that now.
    But somehow i don't think that will fix it, but worth a shot.
    Anyway,thank you for the help.
    And will make sure i let you know how it turns out.

    cim,
     
  10. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #10
    I wonder if those files are MPEG-2 AAC (with an .aac extension, which iTunes doesn't understand) as opposed to MPEG-4 AAC (with an .m4a extension, which iTunes does understand).
     
  11. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    Take a look at this web site.
     
  12. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #12
    Was that link meant for me, or the original poster?
     
  13. Cimulation thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #13
    I'm not quite sure, but thanks anyway, i did a bit of reading up about stuff there.

    The files do have an aac extension, but they also have an itunes icon.

    Thanks again to all.
    But, Like i said, i think i'm going to re-install.

    On that note, any ways you guys know of to preserve settings and preffs and other such things when upgrading from 10.2 to 10.3?
     
  14. mainstreetmark macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #14
    You don't happen to be dragging them into a Smart Playlist, or some other uneditable thing, are you? Click on the Library source, and try again.
     
  15. Cimulation thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #15
    No, believe me, i've just tried importing them anywhere and every which way.
    I'm just going to re-install the OS.
    Any pointers?
     

Share This Page