iTunes and iPod play counts

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by NavyIntel007, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. NavyIntel007 macrumors 65816

    NavyIntel007

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #1
    I don't know if anyone has noticed this but with my first gen. ipod, now that I have all AAC files it seems like the songs I play on my ipod are not updating the play counts like they used to.

    This is bad because I'm pretty close to running out of space and was kind of counting on the songs that didn't have a play count to be the ones I got rid of.

    Anyone have an idea?
     
  2. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #2
    this may sound obvious, especially since you're familari with these things, but you are letting the songs finish entirely before selecting the next song?

    if it's really just happening with AAC files tho... hmm... could there be permissions issues with the files themselves?

    pnw
     
  3. NavyIntel007 thread starter macrumors 65816

    NavyIntel007

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #3
    Yeah, of course I am. I'm not sure if it's still happening with MP3's because I re-encoded everything into AAC.
     
  4. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #4
    i didn't even know that the playcount was updated in itunes...thats pretty cool...i moved that column infavor of the bitrate column
     
  5. NavyIntel007 thread starter macrumors 65816

    NavyIntel007

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #5
    It used to... or maybe it still does... I don't know.
     
  6. NavyIntel007 thread starter macrumors 65816

    NavyIntel007

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #6
    Update: Yep, it works... man I'm stupid.

    Oh Well, for all those that didn't know, the ipod will update the playcounts on AAC files.

    The End :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page