iTunes and landline phone

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by homeshire, Oct 5, 2006.

  1. homeshire macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #1
    I play mp3 streams through iTunes. I used to often play real streams through Realplayer. I have had a problem that goes way way back... my landline phone rings and we pick up; I lose my stream. I have to reinitiate it after we hang up. What troubles me is that this has been happening for years even though there is absolutely no physical connection between my computer and the phone line! Why??? How does the 'puter know that the phone is ringing?

    Is there something I can do, a setting I can change? If nothing else, can someone please tell me at least why it happens? thanks. :confused:
     
  2. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    This is a new one.

    Gotta ask a couple of dumb questions first.

    1. You're not on a dial-up connection, right?

    2. Are you using DSL? If so, do you have the filters installed?

    3. If you answered NO and NO, then this is indeed a strange phenomenom.
     
  3. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #3
    sounds like ADSL that i have

    BT line - internet working

    ring a ding ding on the phone line = power drops on the ADSL line (loss of internet)

    contact your internet/phone company
     
  4. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #4
    Yeah, a friend of mine had that. Had ADSL BB, and when the phone rang he the arse fell out of his connection... Strange one. :confused:
     
  5. homeshire thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #5
    no and no
    yes indeed it is strange. been scratching my head a long time on this one.

    edit: it might be helpful to include the information that my connection is time warner cable
     
  6. ScruffyTheMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    Two questions:

    Is your computer connecting to your cable internet via Airport?

    Is your landline phone a 2.4GHz cordless?

    2.4GHz phones will interfere with Airport networks.
     
  7. homeshire thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #7
    1. yes

    2. no, but the neighbor's is, and that is another source of never-ending grief.
     

Share This Page