Resolved iTunes could not connect to this iPhone.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by utahman130, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. utahman130, Jun 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    #1
    iTunes could not connect to this iPhone. Could not establish a secure connection to this device.

    This error pops up every time I try to connect my jailbroken 3GS 5.1.1 untethered to my iTunes. iTunes is updated. Tried restarting, rebooting iPhone, restarting computer, different cord, different USB port. Nothing. Can someone help me with fixing this.


    Thanks in advance!

    ----------
    Sorry I forgot to update this post. Being that the iMac was the only computer I had, I just restored, rejailbroke, and it synced again.
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Make sure the date and time is set correctly on both devices.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    #3
    Both are correct.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Test your phone with a different computer with iTunes on it.
    Might be bad 30 pin connector or dust or debris in the connector.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #5
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #7
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    #8
    why does this say resolved? There is no solution posted here, so how can this be resolved?

    I am also having the same issue on my iPhone 4, 32 gig, since upgrading to the new Retina MacBook Pro. I used Time Machine to backup and restore my old MacBook Pro (also running Lion)... And that's when my iPhone would no longer communicate.. HELP!!!
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #9
    Bit the bullet and did a backup on another Mac, which I then copied over to my own Mac. Then put iphone in DFU mode did a restore as new device in iTunes. Then restored from backup and everything works again!
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #10
    Any solutions?? Can't sync my iPad because of this message.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #11
    I believe post #4 was the solution it almost always is. Would have been nice though if TS said exactly what he did rather then saying resolved. Those having issues try what dhlizard said.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    ATHENS, GREECE
    #12
    ipad 3 can not connect to tunes

    here the same guys

    ipad 3 with new retina macbook pro can not connect

    the same message , could not establish secure connection.

    tried the time tried to restore to factory settings but nothing.

    any solution please?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    #13
    I have an iPod Touch. Taking #4 into consideration, I blew into the space on the iPod where the USB connects to in case there was dust in there (like we used to do with Nintendo 64 cartridges). Voila! It worked. That was all I needed to do.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    chr1s60

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #14
    I was having a similar issue with my iPhone 4 and my iPhone 5. I found this thread...

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1747?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

    I did everything it tells you to except for the whole throw iTunes into the trash. I deleted the files, restarted, emptied the trash, restarted, and then downloaded iTunes again and just went through the normal overwrite install.

    Hope this will help some of you. It should also be noted that though the title of the support article is for Snow Leopard, I am on 10.8.2 and it worked fine.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #15
    how to solve Cannot allocate a resource error!!!

    HOW TO FIX CANNOT ALLOCATE A RESOURCE ERROR!!!
    I found a fix that worked for me after failing with all the others:
    IF your computer has an old cydia app called Wi-Fi Sync (you'll recognize it on your toolbar as a black silhouette of an iphone that NEVER goes away), then this is probably your main culprit. Simple fix.

    1. Goto your hard drive in the finder
    2. Goto Library
    3. Goto Launch Daemons
    4. Throw this in the trash: com.ghughes.wifisync.root.plist
    5. Goto Library
    6. Goto Application Support
    7. Throw this in the trash: Wi-Fi Sync (it's an entire folder).
    8. Restart.
    9. Thank me.

    Peace and Love, Peace and LOVE!
     

Share This Page