iTunes Crashes Vista Aero - Upgrade Planned?

Discussion in 'Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion' started by im_to_hyper, Jun 20, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    North Hollywood, California, USA
    #1
    I don't know if I am the only one who has experienced this problem, but whenever I run iTunes under Vista, the Aero GUI disappears and the resorts back to Windows Classic.

    I am thinking this has something to do with the fact that iTunes "draws" its own GUI, unless I am totally mistaken.

    Does anyone know if there are any workarounds for this, or if Apple has any plans to fix this problem? I was using Vista on my PC until that happened, because I am always using iTunes.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    #2
    _
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    North Hollywood, California, USA
    #3
    It should be fixed by then, but my question more or less related to the short-term. Has anyone had a workaround for this?

    Or maybe, is there going to be a patch for the short-term while Vista is in beta phase?
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    North Hollywood, California, USA
    #5
    Well, not a plug, but cool, so I am not the only one :D

    Did you find any work-arounds for it, yet? :cool:
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    #6
    Eureka!

    All you have to do is go into quicktime preferences, (I did it via control panel), go to the advanced tab, then click the button that says "Safe Mode"(GDI only). This will disable quicktime directdraw and allow you to use iTunes using the Aero interface. :) Alas, iTunes is still skinned, but at least it won't annoyingly switch everything else to classic mode.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #7
    Yeah, I haven't had many problems with that. Sometimes you use an APP and it will make everything go to the "Core Vista" experience, but once you close the App, everything goes back. This will be fixed, and there should be a version of iTunes for Vista, tho, jus hoping.
     

Share This Page