iTunes duplicate albums?

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by Mindflux, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #1
    My gf asked me how to fix her duplicate albums. Apparently she converted one of her CD's to MP3 and forgot, and later did it again. Resulting in a duplicate album in iTunes.

    Does iTunes not recognize you already have this CD in your library and post warning about it? I find this rather odd that it wouldnt.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    highlight the dups and press delete.
    it should ask you if you want to move them to the trash. just say yes and the song will be in your trash
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #3

    Yes I know HOW to delete them. I'm asking why iTunes allows this? It was the precise same album, twice.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    brick nj
    #4
    annoying bug....did it to my entire ibrary which is roughly 45+ gig


    view>show duplicates>highlight every other song and delte
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    far away
    #5
    iTunes just expects that you want the duplicates if you make them. You can't call that a bug.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #6
    I agree you can't call it a big, but it would be nice if a pop up menu appeared and checked you wanted to do it!

    By the way, this might happen, but i really can't be bothered trying it out :D
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #7
    I have this problem too . But it just happened after the 3.0 update . I didnt do anything to get it like this
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #8
    doug's scripts for itunes have a script for this, works like a charm.
     
  9. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    It's not a bug. There are some instances where an album has two versions, such as "plugged" and "unplugged" or studio vs live, with the same songs and album name. iTunes doesn't make such choices for you. It "assumes" that if you add something to your library, you intended to do that. If you try to add the same album from the same file location, it won't duplicate that, but if the files are coming from a new location or you're re-ripping a CD, it allows you to do that, assuming you know what you're doing.
     

Share This Page