iTunes from G5 to my PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by illegalprelude, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #1
    Ok you guys, heres the deal. I have all my music organized on my G5. I got a decent speaker for it. Now, i got my PC (sitting right next to it) a nice logitec 5.1 surround system and I love it. Is there anyway I can listen to it via my PC? I have the two units networked. I also have the umm Airport Express (i got it as a gift, ive never even opened it cause never knew how to implement it into my setup or if it would even work withouth a airport base station)
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    You could enable sharing in the iTunes preferences. :)

    You don't need an Extreme to use the Express. You could add the Express to your network to give it wireless connectivity and maybe to plug into a sound system meaning that you can use AirTunes. AirTunes basically means you don't need a direct connection to your sound system from a computer anymore. :)
     
  3. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #3

    ohh so if i also telll it to share iTunes, does that mean when I open iTunes on my PC, it will automaticly see the list?

    also, to put the express on my network, do I just use the install cd and thats it?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    You'll need to go into the preferences of iTunes on both computers to enable the sharing on the G5 and the ability to see shared libraries on the PC or set both up for both functions (like I have). iTunes must be running on both machines for this to work though.

    As for the Express, if you use the G5 to set it up you won't need a CD. The AirPort Setup Assistant should be in your Utilities folder. It's quite easy to use. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #5

    ok, so I ended up doing that right? and I see it show up on my playlist but when I try to access it, it gives me some kind of FireWall error. Im not @ home to be by my Mac so I can tell you guys what it says exactly later on but yea, I get a Firewall error
     
  6. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #6
    itunes is awesome in that respect. I have all my music on the G5, but I can access it through my IBM PC laptop and then stream it through airport express to my stereo in the living. I feel sooooo connected :D
     

Share This Page