itunes+ipod prob

Discussion in 'iPod' started by fivetoadsloth, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #1
    Hi, a friend of mine has a 60 gig vieo ipod he downloaded itune 7 plugs it in unplugs it and freezes. He calls me and i have him reset it it starts up again and same problem. He uses win xp and is somewhat of an illeterate so he gave it to me to see if i could get it working. I tried to reset and got the same problem it freezes right away. So i plug it into my macbook and it does everything fine so i try to restore it and i get an unkown error 1418. I cannot figure out what is wrong. When i tried to restore i did find out their is an update but i can get that either, same error. It is windows formated and to reformat it for mac it is through the restore part of itunes. Any ideas? Just trying to not cause him to have to send it tin to apple and get it repaired/replaced.
    Thanks alot.
     
  2. wyatt23 macrumors 6502a

    wyatt23

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Forest Hills, NY
    #2
    when you unplug is, are you ejecting the ipod first? also, how fast is the windows comptuer he's using.

    my old Emac can barely handle the ipod going in and out, she takes a little bit to get situated once the ipod plugs in and once more when it's unplugged.
     
  3. fivetoadsloth thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #3
    yeah i eject it and im sure he does. The issue is it doesnt respong. like ill eject it and it will be stuck on the Do Not Disconnect Screen. Ill reset and and it wont move from the Music, Photos, Videos, etc screen.
     
  4. fivetoadsloth thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #4
    I just realized that when it is frozen it does recgnize the menu circle? dont know what it is called exactly. The screen stays frozen but when i hit anything the backlight does go on. Also when ireset it and it just tuirn on it shows all the languages, but i can not select any of them, or at least the screen doesnt change letting me know i selected one. I also ejected it and plugged it in and found it didnt showe in itunes so i open finder and see it i clcik on it and it says the volume for ipod cannot be found. Any ideas? thanks so much.
     
  5. fivetoadsloth thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #5
    after spending a good chunk of time i got it to work for about 30 seconds and than it freezes again. i cannot figure this one out....
     

Share This Page