iTunes not seeing Nano

Discussion in 'iPod' started by ATD, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. ATD
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #1
    I just got my wife a iPod Nano. We have 2 computers at home, a 1.25 Dual and a 1.4 Dual both running 10.3.8. The 1.4 Dual (mine) took a long while to see the Nano show up in iTunes (about 20 min of messing with it). I went to her computer and it will not see it at all. The iPod icon shows up on the desktop but iTunes 6 will not see it and even the in the iTunes Prefs it says no iPod connected. I'm thinking that it might be a USB2 issue and a Firewire connector would solve it. Or maybe it's a 10.3.8 issue. I am holding back on upgrading to Tiger because it has big issues with a program I use all the time. Any ideas?


    Thanks
     
  2. ATD
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #2
    I did some more checking and it seems that it should run with 10.3.8 and iTunes 6. The Firewire option is out as far as I can tell. What I'm not sure of is if the Dual 1.25 is USB2. I went to the About This Mac, it give me a lot of technical data without saying if it was USB1 or 2. Can anyone remember if the 1.25 Dual came with USB2 or help me decode the info window?

    Thanks
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #3
    Pretty sure it was USB 1.0

    I have a dual 1.0 and USB 1. I am not sure Macs got 2.0 until at least the Metal front Macs.

     
  4. macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    The Nano will work in a USB 1.0 port, it will just be a lot slower at transferring music.
     
  5. ATD
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #5
    Both have metal fronts but when I transfered one album from the 1.4 Dual to the Nano it took about 5 min. Seems like USB 1 to me. Thanks for the info, I guess I just need to keep messing with it.
     
  6. ATD
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #6
    I got it working, I had to upgrade to 10.3.9. Everything I read said it works on 10.3.4 but the last solution (the only one I hadn't done) from the Apple site was upgrading.
     

Share This Page