iTunes problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by graffic, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. graffic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #1
    Howdy

    Heres my problem with iTunes -

    Everytime i try and burn a disc, I am greeted with this message:

    [​IMG]


    Even though I'm burning 63MB onto a 700MB CD-R disc.

    Ive also trailed through google looking for answers, and found that there is meant to be a 'burn' option in the top right hand corner, when the button on mine is in the bottom right. I'm basically just an amateur on iTunes, help would be much appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. Ovs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #2
    If you create a Data CD you can store for example 700MB of files.
    But you're creating an Audio CD. CDs burnt as Audio CD will play on audio cd players. The problem is these work by minutes of storage rather than the amount(MB) of data. 80mins is usually the limit for audio CDs.

    I've not burnt a CD for a while, but if I remember correctly, iTunes should have a visual indicator at the bottom of the window, showing how many minutes are being taken up by the files you wish to burn.
     
  3. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Yes, and to swap from burning an audio CD to a data CD (assuming that's what you want to do), you go to Edit> Preferences, and change the options in the Burning section of the Advanced tab. On an audio CD, you'll only get an album's worth of music - probably about 10-15 tracks, which size-wise is probably only about 40 MB.
     
  4. graffic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #4
    Yeah, thats why I'm baffled because my tracklist is 47.7 minutes long

    Even when I cut the track list down to 3 songs the message still comes up
     
  5. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Well if you've got some spare blanks, why not try burning an audio CD and see what you end up with? See how many of you tracks it thinks will fit on the first CD?
     
  6. graffic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #6
    The CD's work fine on other types of software, I just want to know why the indigneneous iTunes is not working
     
  7. Ovs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #7
    Maybe, if you haven't already, try a different brand of CDR? Just to make sure.

    But I notice you say it's fine with other software. That's a strange one. I really don't know what could be causing the problem with iTunes. Hopefully someone else who has had a similar problem will find this thread and offer some advice.
     
  8. jamesclrk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #8
    Thanks a lot ,i need it too.

    I have the same question, Okay thanks
     
  9. graffic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #9
    Yeah cheers
     

Share This Page