iTunes showing incorrect iPhone storage

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Khryz, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #1
    My iTunes says (while I have my iPhone 3G synced) that I have 267 MB free space, while in the iStat App on my iPhone I have 442 MB free.

    Also, I counted all the videos/podcasts I have currently synced up and it is 200 MB. But, in iTunes it says I have 717 MB of video space taken up on my iPhone. If I delete ALL my videos from my iPhone, then my iTunes "OTHER" goes from 350 MB to 800+ MB.

    So there is a mysterious 500 MB of storage jumping around my phone and I have no clue.

    What is wrong? This only started happening within the past 2 weeks or so.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #2
    ARe you jailbroken... if so then yes it takes about a 500mb partition
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #3
    Nope, never JB or hacked or anything.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #4
    Try doing a restore, and setting it up as a new iPhone. I had the same problem last week, only my "other" was showing up as 11.3GB. They told me at the apple store not to restore with my backup, because any problems in the software might come back. I have been using it for a week and no problems.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #5
    Crap -- I would easily do that but then all my game saves would be gone right?

    What're the chances this is an iTunes bug and that it will fix itself out in a coming update?
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    I just posted about this in the help section - take a look at this pic....

    I can't even sync anything since it needs more space than is currently available. This is a helluva bug!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #7
    Did this start happening after OS 3.0 on your iPhone/iPod Touch? Did it happen after a recent iTunes update?
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #8
    It has happened before a while back with one of the 3.0 beta OSes - I just figured it was a random bug and ignored it.
    This has now happened at least 3 times to me with various versions of iTunes and both my 3GS and my Touch 2G.

    Got tired of waiting and restored my iPhone and setup as a new device with manual configuration and so far so good.
    The iPod Touch is still a no-go....
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #9
    Did you try restoring your iPod Touch as well?

    Because if you restored your iPhone and the problem was fixed without doing anything to iTunes, then the problem is on the phone's end -- but if your iPod Touch doesn't fix itself after being restored, then that would suggest it is an iTunes problem.

    Maybe it's both?
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #10
    I just remembered my iPod touch is on 3.1 as I have a developer account although my iPhone was on 3.0. I will send a bug report to apple to see if they can help.
     

Share This Page