iTunes shuts down...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by amac86, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #1
    Hello. I've noticed that many people have been having trouble with the new itunes update 7.1. I just updated today, and without warning, the program shuts down about a minute after I open it. I've tried restarting and I have also reinstalled the program, but nothing seems to work. Any ideas on how to get itunes to run?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    What sort of machine and system are you running? Do you have any iTunes-related plug ins or hacks? How exactly did you perform the reinstall? :)
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #3
    iTunes crashes on me as well. It won't display anything in my library, nor will it let me preview songs on the iTunes store. This 7.1 update has just fked up my favorite app
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    If you're on a Mac, then create a new user account and see if the problem carries over. If it doesn't then the problem is clearly something in your Home folder on the original account. :)
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #5
    I have tried repairing permissions, I have tried using iTunes on other accounts and the problem persists. Guess it is time to re-install?
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Do you have any theme changers like UNO installed? Do you have any iTunes-related plug ins or hacks installed? :)
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #7
    I reinstalled iTunes and it fixed the problem temporarily. Just this morning I started it up and what do you know? It doesn't work again! :)

    Yes I have a script that capitalizes tracks and I do have UNO but it is not being used at the moment. I also have another little script that makes audiobooks show up under the audiobooks section when using my iPod.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia

Share This Page