iTunes Skips

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by strydr, May 1, 2006.

  1. strydr macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    OK, so this is wierd. Lots of songs skip about 1 sec. into the song. Kinda like a hiccup. Has anyone else had this problem?? Anyone know of a fix?? I run Onyx on a regular basis (repair permissions, run scripts, etc..), but this does not help..
    All music was imported from CD's, -i've checked the CD's for scratches, but they all play just fine.
    All music is stored locally (internal HDD on iMac)
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Play one of the skipping tracks through QuickTime. Does it still skip? :)
     
  3. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I read this as iTunes skins and got all excited...

    And yes I've had this problem before too, it's all the files fault. Was prolly badly encoded/ripped.
     
  4. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #4
    Rip CD's slowly and at around 256kbps for good quality :). I prefer VBR instead of CBR, but since I switched to macs and can't use EAC and LAME, I've just been going with 256 CBR.
     
  5. strydr thread starter macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    Nope. Even wierder, when I go back to iTunes, the song dosen't skip. It's very random. I can skip around (on random) and get a few to play right, then one hangs..
    Does anyone know, is iTunes reading (real-time) from my HDD, or is it caching music to RAM, then playing? Maybe this is a latency issue?, hopefully not impending doom for my HDD, or RAM issues..
    I do not have this problem with any other systems. My PB (with it's slower drive), iPod, mini.., they all work just fine, and they all have a slower (2.5") HDD
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    If you open up Activity Monitor, does it look like your computer is under a lot of strain as it plays the music. Is CPU and RAM usage high (particularly the CPU)? What else are you doing on the system at the same time? :)

    As for whether iTunes uses the RAM or the hard drive, it uses the RAM where possible but obviously everything is kept on the drive.
     
  7. strydr thread starter macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    Well, this is om my iMac, with 2Ghz G5, and 1.5G RAM. CPU usually runs at 30-45%, and I just about always have 500+MB RAM available.. I have a few other apps open (mail, Safari (or Firefox), Indigo, and iTunes), but nothing intensive.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Do you have any iTunes or lyrics-related widgets installed or running? Do you have the PearlLyrics widget installed? :)
     
  9. lurcher macrumors regular

    lurcher

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Thought this was my problem but after reading realised it's different. When playing my ipod sometimes goes to a track, thinks about it, then skips to the next one :confused:

    If I click < it then plays the track fine! Weird.
     
  10. NP3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    also make sure you don't have filevault encrypting the folder where your music is stored.
     
  11. luckylisp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    NY state
    #11
    LOL same here!
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12

    The iPod can have trouble with larger song files because there is more time it has to be accessing the hard drive. Jolt it as it accesses the hard drive and you get skipping. Do you have large tracks?

    Also, Apple made a page about skipping tracks for you here. :)
     
  13. lurcher macrumors regular

    lurcher

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #13
    Thanks MJ

    They are not long tracks and they are 192 bitrate. It doesn't happen to the same track everytime either. Sometimes it will skip and other times it will play. Can't work out any one thing that makes it skip :(
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    So you don't have any lyric or iTunes related widgets installed? :)
     
  15. strydr thread starter macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #15
    Sorry..
    Ya, I have PearLyrics installed.. It's the only add-on of iTunes I have.
     
  16. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16
    It's a known issue with PearlLyrics. Maybe uninstall/delete it. :)
     
  17. strydr thread starter macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #17
    Thanks, I'll give it a try.
     
  18. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #18
    Sorry to bring up an old thread, but thanks MJ, this has been driving me crazy over the last few days. Odd that it only started happening a few weeks after installing Pear.
     

Share This Page