itunes to ringtones

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by drater, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Ok, so i got a new nokia 6133, which is a great phone by the way. The only down side from it is that you can't use mp3s as ringtones, because tmobile wants you to buy their crap. however, i read some where that if you conver the mp3 into an AAC or WMA file it won't be a problem. Does anyone know how to do this? I own the music, I own the phone out right (bought without contract), so t-mobile shouldn't be able to tell me what to do with my phone and my music.... B&ST&RDS! :D

    If anyone could help that would be great, thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    chrisdazzo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    mobile17.com/ :D totally free, works with almost EVERYTHING. i've used it more times than i can count, and it still works wonders for me. check it out.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #3
    -Pick your song in iTunes.
    -Highlight chosen song and click "Get Info".
    -Open the "Options" tab.
    -Adjust the time setting to the exact time you wish to use for the chosen ringtone.
    -Click "OK".
    -Click on "Advanced" in the toolbar.
    -Click "Convert AAC to MP3".
    Your chosen ringtone will appear beneath the original song in your iTunes library. Good luck, let me know if you have any other questions!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    I did try all of that, it worked (thank you). It plays on my phone via the music player and I did shrink the time down to 15 seconds so that it wouldn't be because of that. But it still won't play as a ringtone. I guess t-mobile fixed the phone so that you couldn't do that. Those little #%$#@ers If anyone finds a solution let me know, cause i'm searching. The error says, "can not be set as ringtone" or "not allowed by activation key".
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #5
    I don't think T-Mobile disables personal ringtone uploads. I have a T-Mobile phone (Moto) and I do not have any problems. It might be due to Nokia's setup.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    oh, i know, i've had plenty of phones--way too many phones. The other nokia i have had work just fine. And mp3 ringtones work on the nokia 6131, which is the same phone, made for europe, not specifically for t-mobile.

    But even logically, its easy to make an mp3 a ringtone on a phone. But to make it not one, when you sell ringtones for 2 bucks a pop, now that's making sure you make money. Sorta like verizon does with a lot of their phones.

    ***besides, i called both t-mobile and nokia and asked them about it. They both said it was t-mobile's doing. :mad:
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Location:
    in the southeast
    #7
    most units that are locked by a network provider can be disabled if you know where to go...unless. of course, there's some missing hardware.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    anyone know where to go?
     

Share This Page