itunes + vids

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by derajfast, Dec 16, 2005.

  1. derajfast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    ive downloaded some of the videos from the itunes music store, and they are added to my music library (well video library) in iTunes......i have most of my dvds ripped on my external HD......si there a way i can add them to the video part of itunes so they are displayed in ituens as well as my music...or can i only do that with the vids i DL from itms?
     
  2. zakatov macrumors 6502a

    zakatov

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Florida
    #2
    If they're the right format, they should be draggable into the Library in iTunes. If they are copied, they show up in the videos section, where you can specify the type (movies, music videos, etc) in the "options" section of the "song info".
     
  3. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #3
    do they have to be in h264?.....most of my vids are ripped avis to save space
     
  4. devman macrumors 65816

    devman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #4
    iTunes uses Quicktime for playback...

    If you want to take to a 5G iPod then they must be in certain specifications of H.264 or mpeg-4. This has been widely discussed. Search the forums here or google for video to iPod.

    BTW - wouldn't ripping to H.264 save space over AVI anyway? (the encode times are waaaaay longer though)
     
  5. zakatov macrumors 6502a

    zakatov

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Florida
    #5
    see if they're draggable into the library. If they aren't, change them to h.264.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    iTunes is picky and won't accept .avi files, regardless of their codec. If you have QT Pro, you can open each .avi and manually save as .mov (a "container swap" rather than a re-encode) and then iTunes will accept them. If you have a lot of .avis, it might be quicker to use Automator.
     

Share This Page