iTunes window constantly pops up

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Macman10, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #1
    I have an infuriating problem with my new iPod touch (16 GB). Whatever application I am in, when I double click the button to jump to another one the same interruption occurs: It's a window showing the last song I played in iTunes with the rewind, play and fast forward buttons; below that are a Close button and a Music button. No song is actually playing on iTunes at the time. But this window appears and I have to double-click the button several times before it disappears and lets me go back to the main menu window.

    Any idea has to stop this happening?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    WongJeezy99

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #2
    that is why...

    you gont get the ipod touch. waste of money. why would you not just spend your money on an iPhone.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    razorianfly

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    #3
    Possibly WongJeezy99, because Macman10 wanted the iPod touch.

    We are not all as unhelpful or useless at replies as 'WongJeezy' is ... believe me ... :rolleyes:

    Ok, back to the matter at hand.

    This to me sounds like a software glitch.
    Have you tried restoring the iPod touch software/firmware through iTunes?

    Restoring your iPod touch essentially wipes it of all data and re-installs an original copy
    of the 1.1.4 iPod firmware - therefore ridding your device of any software bugs/issues.

    If you haven't, heres how:

    Note: Be sure to sync your iPod touch once before carrying out this process so that iTunes can
    take a snapshot of your current content and settings which you can then restore to the device after
    completing this process below.


    1. Plug your iPod into your Mac/PC
    2. Choose the iPod from the left pane in iTunes
    3. Hit 'Restore' on the 'Summary' tab
    4. Follow on-screen instructions given by iTunes

    If this doesn't resolve your current iPod touch issue,
    please do get back to me and I'll eliminate other possibilities.

    R-Fly
     

    Attached Files:

  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #4
    not very helpful

    What kind of comment is that? This is a Help forum, not a platform to take snide, semi-literate shots at people for their purchasing decisions.

    Not that it's any of WongJeezy's business, I got the iPod Touch because for several very sound, personal reasons I didn't want a phone on it. Simple as that.

    Useful comments from other forum-users would be received with warm gratitude....
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #5
    that's more like it...

    Hi R-Fly,

    Thanks for your reply and advice. I am restoring the software right now and will let you know what happens. It's slow work...

    Cheers!
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #6
    He's a newbie and will learn. If he doesn't, we'll steel toe his ass out of here. ;)
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #7
    next step...

    R-Fly,

    That didn't work. Completely restored everything but that annoying iTunes window keeps popping up. Any other ideas?

    Thanks!

    Steve Hill4: Let me know if you need any help, and I'll reach for my steel-toed boots....
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #8
    Ok, did I read correctly that you are DOUBLE clicking the home button to switch applications?

    If so, what you are describing is NORMAL. When you double-click the home button, the music player window pops up, allowing you to change tracks, pause, or adjust volume in whatever application you are in.

    To return to the home screen, you only press the home button ONCE.

    Let me know if I read your original post wrong, but it sounds like that is what you are doing...
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #9
    not sure which way to look...

    Well, how stupid do I feel? Cameront9, you were absolutely right. I was double-clicking instead of single-clicking. That's what you get for listening to a salesperson at the Apple Store instead of reading the instructions.

    Well, the upside is that the problem is well and truly solved. Thanks to you all! Apart from Wongjeezer, of course...
     

Share This Page