iTunes won't open when iPhone connected

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Yizi, May 30, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    My iTunes used to pop up everytime i connected my iPhone 3G, but since i restored my iPhone i have to manually open it for the iPhone to sync and backup... any ideas how i can fix it?

    Thanks,
    Yizi
     
  2. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #2
    There should be an option in iTunes under your iPhone that says "open iTunes automatically when this device is connected" check that box.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    If your talking about under preferences > devices ? i already had a look but there is nothing there, please direct me if you found anything ...
     
  4. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #4
    No it's under the screen in iTunes that you see when you have your iPhone connected. It is the first tab/screen on the iPhone view. It should be at the bottom. Or if it isn't there, look through the other tabs.

    EDIT: try checking the one that says to sync when iPhone is connected.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I have 3 options check the attachment, and i checked other tabs, nothing like what you said or anything similar ...
     

    Attached Files:

  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    OK i have ticked the middle option like in your picture, still the same ...
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    i got the same issue as of today. a fix would be nice
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #8
    I have a massive delay when I plug into my computer and when it starts to sync. Have to love Vista
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #9
    Had the same problem, this is how I fixed it
    First make sure you that itunes helper is running, check in activity monitor
    If not go to your applications folder and find itunes right click, show package contents, resources then find ituneshelper and start it.
    Then make sure that its in your login items so you don't have to do that all the time

    Hope that helps
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    lol sorry to laugh at you. i hope you have a mac or maybe thinking of buying one.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Sorry to resurrect a dead thread, but I have been having this problem as of late.

    iTunesHelper wasn't running in the Activity Monitor, so I open the package and launched it. iTunesHelper does not show up in my Login items, How do I make it a start up process?

    I tried clicking on the + icon and doing a search, but it wont show up. I also can't get the iTunes package to open in the dialogue.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #12
    Usually for me when this happens iTunes is hanging and will not open another instance of it, and I have to ctrl-alt-del kill it. Then it will open up
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    claidheamdanns

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #13
    Adding items to your login process

    I see no one answered your question, so here is how you do that for a package item.

    Go to your login items window. But find the item in your Finder window per the instruction above, not through the add dialog in System prefs. Drag the item into the login items window. This works for any app, not just ones that are hidden inside packages.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    That's a great tip. Many thanks!
     

Share This Page