iTunes

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by andypress, Jun 22, 2003.

  1. andypress macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
  2. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
  3. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #3
    I've definitly heard of people installing iTunes on os 8.6.
     
  4. saabmp3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #4
    There is a hack for iTunes to run on OS 8.6 but I don't remember where to find it. I would reccomend looking first for it here (by doing a search) and then next on versiontracker.com. I'm sure you'll find it.

    BEN
     
  5. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #5
    i would recommend upgrading to os 9. if your computer cant handle os 9 then itunes is probably gonna run like trash. i would go check out soundjam mp, same developers made itunes and its a great piece of software.

    iJon
     
  6. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #6
    I be running it on a 7100/66av, the problem is that many people dont have os 9.1
     
  7. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #7
    unfortunately iTunes 1.0 lists as system requirements OS 9.0.4. So the only possible alternative is some sort of hack, personally I don't believe such a thing is possible.

    Face it, you're unsupported :(

    pnw
     
  8. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #8
    you can order os 9 for another 20 dollars after you buy os X. so it will be about 149 dollars.

    iJon
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    That gets you 9.2.1. I don't think you can run 9.2 on a 7100 (Apple lists requirements as any machine than can run OS X).
     
  10. zed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    there is a little hacky type program that will allow you to run it on OS 8.6... i know cuz i used to use it. I forget what it is called but if you search versiontracker im sure it is still listed. (just be sure to click the "Mac OS" button at the top :)
     
  11. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #11
    The 7100 can only run up to 9.1, which know one that i know has. I'm looking to use the 7100 as an mp3 jukebox, and since its an av model, I would set the resolution to 640x480 and use my tv as the display.
     
  12. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #12
    Correct.

    This means that you can run up to precisely iTunes 2.0.x on your machine. Forget about running or trying to install QT 6.2 or 6.3 on your machine to use AAC files on a 7100, either.
     

Share This Page