iTunesRegistry.com is back + open source(!)

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by mainstreetmark, Feb 6, 2007.

  1. mainstreetmark macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #1
    Hey guys -

    I finally got ahold of some brand new, server-class hardware with a decent pile of RAM to handle iTunesRegistry, thanks to the people who have donated to it. So, obviously go back and check it out.

    http://www.itunesregistry.com

    But, the big news is, as promised, I've made the code freely available to the internet with the hope that others out there will take part in putting up their own little ideas for stats and charts.

    I've set up a code.google.com account for people to mess around with. It's been open-sourced for about 2 days now, so don't expect it to be spit-polished.

    http://code.google.com/p/itunesregistry

    As far as I can tell, this is the first open-source website, where users contribute code. That's kinda neat, don't you think? Well, we'll see. (I obviously don't let the internet have direct access to the server, or anything, but I'll update it regularly myself after spying the code)

    Hopefully you guys will wanna poke around, especially those of you who are interested in learning how php+mysql works a little better.
     
  2. MacFan26 macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #2
    Awesome, I definitely need to update my account :)
     
  3. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #3
    yeah, i lost all the old user accounts (again), so everyone gets to update their account.
     
  4. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #4
    uh, this may be dumb but when it comes to reading or writing code of any kind no matter how elementry, i'm a moron. so i read your code on the site to get the zip file, but all my music is on an external, i know how to reference it, but i don't understand all your example code.

    How do i start the code if i'm not referencing my home user account, and do i type up to the xml. hit enter and then type : /Desktop/it.gz

    EDIT: Nevermind i just exported it from itunes.
     
  5. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #5
    actually this totally didn't work for me at all. I went and manual zipped the .xml file in the music folder and uploaded, it did some counting 500...1000...so on and when i get the the homepage, no data.

    Actually some datat shows up under my account, which isn't accurate, but close, and it shows nothing under the homepage.
     
  6. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #6
    Yeah, i probably need to point out that this is a brand new install on brand new hardware, and I did expect bugs, which is why I hung around the computer tonight to work through them all.

    However, I forgot that I have the new server behind a hardware firewall, and i can't even VPN to it from outside it's network. So, I can't fix much. :(

    Try again tomorrow night?

    - or, from your Terminal, just copy+paste that little shell command there, since it uses a nice standard gzip, instead of a regular zip.
    - or, try uploading unzipped, if it's less than 5 megs (the current limit, i see)

    edit: http://www.itunesregistry.com/user/homepage/mashinhead you have some stuff
     
  7. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #7

    Yeah just noticed, Took a second though, thanks. So if i add new music i have to update it, or if my library changes at all?

    also as a note for code illterate users like me you should put some instructions that do not involve terminal. The .xml file is automatically generated and in the music folder, its much easier to get to that way.
     
  8. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #8
    yeah, you do have to re-upload the whole thing when it changes. At one point, a few years back, there was a Konfabulator widget that kept things updated, but those days are gone.

    Maybe someone will write a Y! widget or a OSX widget that does the same thing. The new Dashcode looks easy enough, and i know my little widget "server" is still up there.

    Hello open source!
     
  9. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #9
    I finally got enough ram to install VMware, and therefore Internet Explorer.

    Man, does this site just not even work at all in IE. Perhaps some nice CSS expert will come along and apply the appropriate hacks.
     
  10. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #10
    what's vmware?

    Also i have movies and tv shows, and music videos, it would be cool to catalog that too, whenever you have a chance to get to it. I really like your site, so just offering some suggestions, hope you don't mind.
     
  11. xoreu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #11
    Just wanted to let you know that your site's home page says "Oooops! The page you are looking for is not found."
    As friendly and welcoming as that is, you might want to change it to something more appropriate. :)
     
  12. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #12
    VMWare Fusion allows you to set up a virtual machine, so I put in the office's CD and installed Windows XP under a corp license. The speed is reasonable, and even though I allocated 8 gigs, so far it's taking less than two.

    And, yeah, the site's not without it's problems. It's been running on a crappy server for months, and received little attention during that time. Hopefully I'll find time, and hopefully more, the 'open source' concept will catch on.

    Great chance to practice your PHP.
     
  13. MacFan26 macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
  14. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #14
    yeah, there may be some new-hardware bugs, and it's running on a server i haven't spent any time tuning, but it generally works. Some of the background housekeeping processes are still having trouble, so there's weird results.

    Any interested in working with the code? Getting the site running on your local box.
     

Share This Page