I've caught the bug.....

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by BiikeMike, Oct 14, 2005.

  1. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #1
    Since Getting my PBook, Now I want a PowerMac :D

    But they are SOOO frikkin expensive! Not only are the computers expensive, but then you have to get the crazy priced displays.

    But I want one soo bad!
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    You don't *have" to get the "crazy priced displays", you can pair it with whatever monitor you like (HELLO THAR DELL DISPLAYS!)

    Also, though they may not be great value for money, they aren't half bad.
     
  3. EGT macrumors 68000

    EGT

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
  4. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #4

    I'll be accepting donations via paypal..... PM me for more details :D
     
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #5
    just buy one they are beautiful i have one with a Dell monitor, its great
     
  6. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #6
    HAha, some guy at the genius bar had a broken 15" TiBook. I tell him "it's an excuse to get a new one!! Get it! GET IT!!"
    he called me evil :p :p
    (Then I told him mine was free and he gve me the WORST look.. AHHA! YESS!)

    but I agree... GO FOR IT!
     
  7. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #7
    But you know once you get it you'll want one of the shiny aluminum cinema displays to match... :D
     
  8. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    I agree...

    DO IT!!!!

    hehehehe......

    Just to get you worked up: I have a Dual G5 with Apple Cinema 23" HD Display.. AND IT'S SO AWESOME!!

    Sorry, edesignuk, but although the Dell displays are better value for money, there is NO WAY I am going to stare at a freaking Dell display connected to a beautiful G5. The Apple Cinema Displays are just so meant for the G5... ;)
     
  9. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #9

    Why was yours free, I'm giving you the same look right now!

    I really just can't justify spending that amount of money on another computer right now. With my new PB, all my bikes, and all the other stuff I have, plus being a poor college student and having rent and bills to deal with, I just cant do it.

    But, for FUTURE, referance, has anyone bought one of these so called "deals" off Ebay? one like this ? A mac and 23" display for a grand? smells fishy to me....
     
  10. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #10
    lets put it this way i would never ever buy a Mac on ebay, ever no matter what.

    I have bought two Powerbooks, an iBook, two iPods, and a Powermac at the apple store, never will i buy from another place other than Apple for computers
     
  11. jywv8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    Eh, I've sold several of my old Macs on Ebay over the years. I got some extra cash, and the buyers got some good deals on some less than current computers. Having said that, if an Ebay deal is "too good to be true", then it probably is. If there is any doubt, just buy it from a store.
     
  12. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #12

    pick a reason and I'll tell you which one is right:
    1. I'm dating one of clerks/geniuses/manager
    2. Tiger night
    3. I called up Stevie J and I asked him for one
    4. I'm awesome.
    5. Because I said so.
    6. I hate clowns


    Man, if I had $1300 right now, I'd be on those new iMacs like white on rice! THOSE THINGS ARE AWESOME!!
     
  13. SummerBreeze macrumors 6502a

    SummerBreeze

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    I definitely wouldn't mind a new iMac right now, although I have no need for it since I use my PowerBook for everything anyway. I can't wait until I can afford a cinema display though....and a new iPod....and a nano....and possibly a shuffle....

    Yeah, I think I have the bug too.
     
  14. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #14
    All of the above? ;)

    The lab next door has a G5 and 20 inch ACD. I just drool whenever I walk past. Occasionally I have a sneaky play to see just how much faster it is than my Mini. Ho hum - mustn't grumble :rolleyes:
     
  15. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #15
    Ooof... at the Apple store, there's a dual 2.7 with 3.5 gigs of RAM.
    WITH A THIRTY INCH DISPLAY. It's sooo drool worthy..

    and it's not an odd number or six.
    It's numbers 2 and 4.
    Tiger night and because I'm awesome.
    :p
     
  16. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #16
    and erm... that still doesn't quite explain how you got a free 'puter!
     
  17. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #17
    Because I'm awesome! :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1509.jpg
      1509.jpg
      File size:
      19.9 KB
      Views:
      291
  18. SummerBreeze macrumors 6502a

    SummerBreeze

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  19. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #19
    Not only awesome... you're darned lucky! :rolleyes:
     
  20. Lau Guest

    #20
    That item has now been removed. <sniffs> Yup. ;)
     
  21. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
    #21
    I wonder what makes you think you need a PowerMac.

    The new iMacs are pretty damn awesome machines. Up to $1699 (drool).

    I would consider an iMac if I were you.

    m2c <--- Yes I did copy that from somebody. I like it.
     
  22. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #22

    What makes me think I need a Powermac is that I want a dual processor with 2+ gigs of ram.

    Why, you may ask? When I graduate from college, I want to start a freelance media company. I will be doing heavy Photochop work, Final Cut Pro, and Motion. Yes, I know that an iMac WILL run that stuff, but...... CS2 and Final Cut Studio use a LOT of system resources. I also want the option of having a bigger harddrive, and being able to add more INTERNAL hard drives. with Firewire or USB2, you are limited to the speed of that protocall, no matter how fast your external drive is.

    I figure, if I really want to get into this stuff, I may as well go all the way, because with the way computers go, whatever I get will be outdated in a few years, but the Powermac will be LESS outdated :)
     

Share This Page