Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

burnout8488

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 8, 2011
Endwell, NY
I'm as big of a PPC fan as anyone, but my PowerBook 1.67 needed to be superseded by a MacBook yesterday. What surprised me was that it didn't involve CPU intensive programs, just little bugs and general slow-ness that made me switch up.

I'm a marketing intern doing SEO, blogging, and a lot of social media riffraff. Unfortunately, the websites I need to do this are either flash based, or hit me with an "Unresponsive Script" error when I try to use them. (Google AdWords) With Excel and Word open, and 5-6 tabs in TenFourFox, the computer had no problem "Beach-Balling" me numerous times, and I had to Force Quit a lot of things.

I was really hoping this computer would get me through my internship, but it looks like what is commonplace in the 2013 World Wide Web has finally killed it for me. :( If it weren't for the poor internet performance (due to the graphic/animated nature of most websites today) I feel as if this computer would be very viable for what I do, which isn't that intensive of work.

Computer Specs: 15" 1.67 Hi-Res PBG4, 2GB Ram, 250GB 5400rpm WD Blue (Fastest possible PATA HDD, right under the 320GB version), Leopard 10.5

For now, it's back to borrowing my girlfriend's old 2.4 C2D 15" MBP. It works great, but as many of us know, just doesn't have that PPC "feel" to it. :(

ybz90

macrumors 6502a
Jul 10, 2009
I'm as big of a PPC fan as anyone, but my PowerBook 1.67 needed to be superseded by a MacBook yesterday. What surprised me was that it didn't involve CPU intensive programs, just little bugs and general slow-ness that made me switch up.