ive got a challenge for you all...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BWalen, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. BWalen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #1
    so i decided that i wanted to fool around a bit with Linux (mandriva) on my 4-month old powerbook g4. I was asked to and proceeded to format my HD and unfortunately the install didn't completely finish...guess for some reason a bootstrap wasn't installed to the HD.

    So i decided to ditch my linux experiment and go back to Tiger...but with a problem. I get to the install portion of the setup process and a HD isn't recognized. I go to the disk fixing utility but i don't get any response other than the swirling cursor...

    anyone have any ideas on how to format my HD back to regular Mac format so that I can get my Tiger back up and running?

    thanks in advance!
    --brandon
     
  2. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #2
    Download a LiveCD version of Linux and use that to wipe the hard drive and start over.
     
  3. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #3
    i'd like to do that except mandriva doesn't offer a live cd for PPC...it just has the 3 disk format...unless you know of another linux company/type that will support the PPC?
     
  4. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #4
    Ubuntu will do the trick for you
     
  5. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #5
    thanks i'll try that!

    have you installed linux before?
     
  6. excalibur313 macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #6
    I actually ran into the same problem when installing Mandriva on a PC. I'm not really sure why it happens. It has scared me away from Mandriva though even though it looks gorgeous.
     
  7. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    If you can boot the linux install CD then you are running Linux. from there bring up a console and run "fdisk" and delete all the partitions do a "w" (write) to save
    Next boot the tiger install DVD and it will format the disk.

    I'm a long time UNIX user and after that Linux user from day zero. Now I'm learning a little about Mac OSX. From what I see OSX, or really "Darwin" is very, very much like Linux.

    If you have an old Mac and want to learn about UNIX try Darwin. It's on the Apple web site and it's free. It runs on any PC or PPC it need not be Apple hardware But then if you have Tiger you have Darwin.
     
  8. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    I had the same kind of trouble with Mandrake/Mandriva on my PC. It's the only Linux distro I've tried that wouldn't successfully boot after installing.
     
  9. TheMasin9 macrumors 6502a

    TheMasin9

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Huber Heights, OH
    #9
    can you boot from a cd

    or does that require a basic installation of the mac os?
     
  10. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #10
    k so there's good news and bad news. Good news is that i finished my install of linux, though the bad news is that i can't get it to boot up right, and i get an error message when loading the kernel... i downloaded Ubuntu live and regular discs and it doesn't boot up into anything, and now not even the MacOSX will boot with the new linux OS on my system...so im still stuck :( that's the problem. Help anyone?
     
  11. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #11
    what is the default format system on Mac HD? Fat32?
     
  12. Josh macrumors 68000

    Josh

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    State College, PA
    #12
    lol no - that's windows.

    It would be the Mac OS Extended format.

    There are several variations of that to choose from, as well as Unix file system.
     
  13. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #13
    actually isn't windows NTFS? at least that what i've been formatting mine to because from what i've researched its the best to do...

    anyhow, i'm thinking that the reason why my HD isn't recognized in the MacOSX install process is because there isn't any space on the HD that is formatted to it; i think all i'm using for my linux formatting is Linux Ext2 or Ext3 formatting. im able to format the HD by doing a reinstall of linux and can try to reset the partitions so that i can maybe get a portion of it to be MacOSX compatible, then hopefully it will be recognized during my MacOSX install???

    here are my format options:

    Linux Swap
    Linux Native
    Journalised FS: Ext3
    Journalised FS: Reiser FS
    Journalised FS: XFS
    Journalised FS: JFS
    Apple Bootstrap
    Apple HFS Partition
    PPc PReP Boot

    which format type would be most readily used by MacOSX???
     
  14. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #14
    I don't kniow put here is how to find out. Use Linux's fdisk to delete all the partitions. Or if your instaler uses some graphical front end do the same with it. Next do an OSX install. Back to Linux ask fdisk to print the partition table and see what Mac OSX wrote.

    Your choises of what kind of partition to make are much larger than the list you gave. So I suspect you may be using some kind of front end to fdisk that limts the available choises. I think the partition type is a byte - two hex digits.

    fdiskitself will print a longer list that includes stuff like "fat16" and "minux" and i'm pretty sure "HFS+" which is likey what you want.
     
  15. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #15
    thanks for all the help and support all. you all have given me WAY more advice and technical knowledge than any of the linux support forums i've visited, and for that i'm truly thankful.

    Here's the situation i'm currently in. I've installed Mandriva on the HD and it will boot to the boot loader with three options...one to boot to mandriva, 2 for CDROM (which doesnt really boot any cdroms i throw into my superdrive except for the mandriva install cd and the Tiger CD, and the 3rd option is to go to OpenFirmware. I can't actually access mandriva (the GUI portion) because there's an error message when i try, and i cant seem to find support on how to fix that error in any of the linux forums i've visited, so accessing the Fdisk isn't a possibility.

    the mandriva installer (its a GUI installer) will allow me to patition a hard drive using the formats listed above. However, in order for the whole format process to complete (to wipe the hard drive clean) i have to set up the format in the way that linux wants...a swap, a "/" and a "root" at least, mostly using Ext2 or Ext3 formatting.

    On my initial install of Mandriva (and subsiquent attempts too) i chose to wipe the drive clean, and the install commenced without a problem. then when it came time to installing a boot loader, i got an error saying

    "an error occured, output in file /mnt/etc/modprobe.conf failed: No such file or directory"

    and when i click the "ok" box i dont get any response from Mandriva...and then i have to start my mac all over again.

    i really dont know what to do but am really at the point to where i just want tiger back. can i format using openfirmware? or my other idea was just to format a portion a custom partition job to a mac format?

    my main issue with my install of Tiger is that when i get to the screen (4th maybe?) where it asks me to select a drive to install tiger onto, nothing shows up, and i think it is because it's not formatted to a mac format...but could there be other reasons why?
     
  16. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #16
    so i figured out that it must have been the CD's that i was using to burn my images must have been of low quality, because all i did was switch to a new set of CD-Rs and i got Kubuntu to install first try

    now heres the question: what command do i throw into the Console (Konsole for me) to get fdisk to work...for now i put in "fdisk" and it tells me that i need a device arguement but i'm not sure of the proper protocol for doing that...ive experimented for a good hr here on my own with no luck...

    so close, yet so far.
     
  17. munkees macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #17
    fdisk

    It been a long time since I used linux fdisk but it goes like fdisk /dev/hda0 should get you the first hd in the system
     
  18. Josh macrumors 68000

    Josh

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    State College, PA
    #18
    I don't know of any OS that has used Fat32 as the default besides windows or OS/2 (both being from MS).

    NTFS didn't come around until WindowsNT, and even yet (with XP) it is still not the default,

    NTFS is the better choice for performance and archiving.
     
  19. BWalen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #19
    k soooo i had no idea that if i plug in my laptop to another mac i can just use the disk fixing utility from the other mac to fix my computer...

    i think i must have spent 10-20 hrs working with linux, installing, reinstalling and the like trying to get something on there so i can use Fdisk...only to call the apple store today and have someone tell me that all i had to do was plug my laptop in via firewire, hold T during startup and force the laptop into being used by my school's eMac as an external drive, and then using the eMac to format using the disk utility...

    wow. coulda saved me a lot of trouble had i known that. hopefully this thread proves useful for someone else.

    i now have a clean install of tiger and couldn't be happier to have a working, functional machine.
     

Share This Page