I've got an "F" in my menubar! What is it?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ChrisH3677, May 4, 2004.

  1. ChrisH3677 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #1
    Just this morning I've turned my computer on and in my menubar i've got a new item, an italic uppercase "F" in a white box with rounded corners.

    I can't select it in anyway - tried single, double and key modifier clicks.

    Has anyone else seen this? or know what it is? I've never had it before.

    I also haven't installed any new software for at least a week.

    thanks
     
  2. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #2
    Well you could try restarting. If that doesn't work go to system prefs and go to accounts, then click the tab marked startup items. If there is any thing in there named 'f' just remove it. Or you cold go into activity mointor and see what processes are running and see if any one happens to be named f or has the letter f in it.

    Thats all I got...

    except maby your computer is trying to swear at you... ;)
     
  3. Elan0204 macrumors 65816

    Elan0204

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Strange. Could you post a screenshot so we can see what it looks like?
     
  4. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #4
    can you move it around in the menubar by holding option and dragging? That would tell you whether it's a menubar item or an actual program... also look for it's process in the Activity Monitor. I'm just not familiar with a program that uses such an icon.

    paul
     
  5. ChrisH3677 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #5
    *blush**blush**blush**blush**blush**blush*

    um...i found the problem (he says meekly)

    I'd inadvertently hit the "F-Lock" button on the Logitech keyboard.

    This keyboard has 18 extra buttons on it and I use not a single one of them!

    I do wonder whether anyone uses all the extra buttons on keyboards?
     
  6. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #6
    the f-lock is actually pretty useful on those keyboards. but if you don't use the buttons associated with it, and don't want to see if you accidentally hit it, you can turn off the display in the logitech control system pref. pane.
     
  7. iostream.h macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #7
    It's actually Command+drag
     

Share This Page